Print RSS
Texas A&M Sweeps 2012 Big 12 Indoor Track & Field Championships
February 25, 2012

Championship Central
Championship Results
Championship Photos

COLLEGE STATION, Texas -- Texas A&M swept the Big 12 Indoor Track & Field Championships for the first time in league history at the Gilliam Indoor Stadium on Saturday. It is the men's second-straight indoor title and the women's fifth overall.

Aggie teammates Prezel Hardy, Jr. and Ameer Webb share the men's high point scorer award, with 18 points apiece at the Championship. It is the fourth time an Aggie male has garnered the honor. Hardy, Jr. collected the 60 meters title in 6.66. Webb followed in the second slot in 6.72. It was the first time an Aggie has won the event at the Championship. Webb ran the fastest collegiate time this year in the 200 meters, clocking 20.62 with Hardy, Jr. finishing behind at 21.02.

Betsy Saina (Iowa State) and Kamaria Brown (Texas A&M) garnered the women's high point scorer award. Saina is the first Cyclone female to earn the most points at the Championship. Saina collected her second title of the meet when she bested Natosha Rogers in the 3,000 meters. The two had battled it out on day one in the 5,000 meters with the same ending results. Brown clocked a world-leading 22.86 200 meters time, tying the Big 12 meet record. The freshman finished five hundredths of a second behind KU's Diamond Dixon in the 400, and her mark automatically qualifies her for the NCAA Championships next month.

A&M picked up more individual titles as Ashley Collier claimed the women's 60 meters, while Michael Preble and Deon Lendore took titles in the 600 yards and 400 meters on the men's side, respectively.

Texas A&M won the men's 4x400 meter relay for the third-straight year in a time of 3:05.87. The Kansas women earned their first 4x400 meter relay title, eclipsing the Big 12 Indoor Track & Field record with a 3:31.6 mark.

The Texas freshman duo of Petter Olson and Ryan Crouser snagged victories in the the men's heptathlon and shot put, respectively. Olson finished with a total of 5,745 points ahead of teammate Isaac Murphy who collected 5,445 points. In the shot put, the Longhorns took the top three spots, as Crouser tossed a 65-03.50 (19.90m) throw to earn the win. Hayden Baillio and Jacob Thormaehlen followed in the second and third slots.

Kansas State grabbed its first ever event sweep at the Indoor Championships when Erik Kynard and Alyx Treasure took the top spots in the high jump. Kynard cleared 7-0.525 (2.27m) to take home his second indoor high jump title. Senior Jeffrey Julmis became the first Wildcat to claim the men's 60 meter hurdles title.

Missouri's Ricky West tabbed a 1:47.81 in the men's 200 meters, running the second-fastest time in Big 12 Indoor Track & Field Championship history. Laura Roxberg (Missouri) became the first lady Tiger to win the mile.

In the shot put, OU's Tia Brooks threw a world-leading 60-06.75 (18.46m) to be declared the Big 12 indoor champion for the second-straight season. Her mark is a new indoor championship meet record.

OSU's Natalja Piliusina was one of six athletes to defend their titles from a year ago as she snagged the 800 meter title running it in 2:07.43. Kendra Chambers (Texas) also earned her second-straight 600 yard title as she broke the Gilliam Indoor Stadium record with her 1:19.23 mark.

Kansas earned a pair of individual wins with Andrea Geubelle taking the triple jump and Diamond Dixon winning the 400 meters. Dixon is the first female Jayhawk to garner the 400 meters title.

The 2012 NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships are set for March 9-10 at Jacksons Track at the Idaho Center in Nampa, Idaho.


1. Texas A&M, 154
2. Texas, 133.5
3. Oklahoma, 98
4. Kansas State, 64
5. Baylor, 53
6. Oklahoma State, 52
7. Texas Tech, 48
8. Missouri, 47
9. Iowa State, 45
10. Kansas, 44.5

1. Texas A&M, 140
2. Texas, 112
3. Kansas, 101.33
4. Baylor, 76
Iowa State, 76
6. Texas Tech, 63
7. Kansas State, 56
8. Oklahoma, 55.33
9. Oklahoma State, 31
10. Missouri, 29.33


60m hurdles: Jeffrey Julmis, Kansas State, 7.75
60m: Prezel Hardy, Jr., Texas A&M, 6.66
Mile: Rico Loy, Iowa State, 4:06.33
600y: Michael Preble, Texas A&M, 1:09.07 
400m: Deon Lendore, Texas A&M, 46.33
1000m: Eric Harasyn, Oklahoma, 2:24.27
800m: Ricky West, Missouri, 1:47.81
200m: Ameer Webb, Texas A&M, 20.62
3000m: George Alex, Oklahoma, 8:01.85
4x400m relay: Texas A&M, 3:05.87
Shot put: Ryan Crouser, Texas, 65-03.50 (19.90m)
High jump: Erik Kynard, Kansas State, 7-05.25 (2.27m)
Triple jump: Mark Jackson, Texas, 50-02.5 (15.31m)
Heptathlon: Petter Olson, Texas, 5,745 points

60m hurdles: Tiffani McReynolds, Baylor, 8.15
60m: Ashley Collier, Texas A&M, 7.25
Mile: Laura Roxberg, Missouri, 4:43.31
600y: Kendra Chambers, Texas, 1:19.23
400m: Diamond Dixon, Kansas, 52.55
1000m: Boglarka Bozzay, Kansas State, 2:47.02
800m: Natalja Piliusina, Oklahoma State, 2:07.43
Shot put: Tia Brooks, Oklahoma, 60-06.75 (18.46m)
200m: Kamaria Brown, Texas A&M, 22.86
3000m: Betsy Saina, Iowa State, 9:14.20
4x400m relay: Kansas, 3:31.36
High jump: Alyx Treasure, Kansas State, 6-0.0 (1.83m)
Triple jump: Andrea Geubelle, Kansas, 44-07.00 (13.59)

Weight throw
: Jacob Bullinger, Missouri, 63-02.25 (19.26m)
Pole vault: Maston Wallace, Texas, 17-08.50 (5.40m)
Long jump: Marquise Goodwin, Texas, 25-04.75 (7.74m)
5,000 meters: Shadrack Kipchirchir, Oklahoma State, 13:49.04
DMR: Texas A&M, 9:40.75

Weight throw
: Kelly Closse, Texas Tech, 70-08.00 (21.54m)
Pole vault: Laura Asimakis, Texas A&M, 13-11.25 (4.25m)
Long jump: Francine Simpson, Kansas, 20-07.75 (6.29m)
5,000 meters: Betsy Saina, Iowa State, 15:50.20
DMR: Oklahoma State, 11:19.42
Pentathon: Ryann Krais, Kansas State, 4,079 points



< Track
Popular on
Load More