Print RSS
MU's Haith Wins Henry Iba Award
March 19, 2012
Missouri's Frank Haith, who led the Tigers to the title at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Men's Basketball Championship, is the 2011-12 recipient of the Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award, presented annually to the National Coach of the Year by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.

In compiling arguably the greatest season in school history, MU racked up a 30 wins for just the second time in school history and rose to as high as No. 2 in the nation en route to a No. 2 seed in the NCAA Tournament. Led by second-team USBWA All-American Marcus Denmon, the Tigers won a record 14 Big 12 Conference games and a school-record 27 regular-season wins.

In his first season at Missouri, the USBWA District VI Coach of the Year guided a team that was ranked 25th in the Associated Press' preseason poll and picked fourth in the Big 12 to unexpected heights. Playing with only seven scholarship players for the most of the year, Missouri won 18 of its first 19 games.

Haith will receive the Henry Iba Award at the USBWA's College Basketball Awards Breakfast held in conjunction with the NCAA Final Four on Friday, March 30, at the New Orleans Marriott at 8 a.m. The legendary LSU coach Dale Brown and his 1981 and '86 Final Four teams will also be honored on that Friday morning. For tickets to the breakfast, visit the USBWA website at

The Henry Iba Award is named in honor of the legendary Oklahoma State coach who won 655 games and two national championships in 36 seasons in Stillwater. The award is voted on by all members of the USBWA at the conclusion of the regular season. The USBWA has presented a National Coach of the Year Award each year since the 1958-59 season.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball.

< Men's Basketball
Popular on
Load More