Print RSS
Missouriís Smith Garners Big 12 Wrestling Coach of the Year Award
March 22, 2012
Brian Smith (Missouri) has been named the Big 12 Wrestling Coach of the Year by a vote of the league’s coaches. Smith led the Tigers to their first Big 12 Championship title this year with a four-point victory in Columbia, Mo. He is the first Missouri coach to claim the honor.

Under Smith’s direction, MU was the only school in the country to advance all 10 of its starters to the NCAA Championships.  At that event, the Tigers finished 26th with 20 points. At this year’s Big 12 Championship, Missouri tallied a progam-best 77 points and recorded a program-high four individual Conference champions.

In 2011-12, Missouri posted a 14-5 dual record and a 3-3 mark in Big 12 play. Tiger wrestlers took home four Big 12 Wreslter of the Week honors this season - three by Alan Waters and one by Brent Haynes. The quartet of weekly award wins were the most in MU history.

In his 14 years at the helm of the Missouri program, Smith has coached 15 All-Americans and directed three athletes to a total of four indvidual national titles. Smith is MU’s all-time winningest coach with a 173-83-3 career record and is just one of two Tiger coaches to reach the 100-win plateau.

Big 12 Coach of the Year History
1997 --    John Smith, Oklahoma State
1998 --    John Smith, Oklahoma State
1999 --    Jack Spates, Oklahoma
    Bobby Douglas, Iowa State
2000 --    Bobby Douglas, Iowa State
2001 --    John Smith, Oklahoma State
2002 --    Jake Spates, Oklahoma
2003 --    John Smith, Oklahoma State
2004 --    John Smith, Oklahoma State
2005 --    John Smith, Oklahoma State
2006 --    Jack Spates, Oklahoma
    John Smith, Oklahoma State
2007 --    Cael Sanderson, Iowa State
2008 --    Mark Manning, Nebraska
2009 --     Mark Manning, Nebraska
2010 --    John Smith, Oklahoma State
2011 --    John Smith, Oklahoma State
2012 --     Brian Smith, Missouri
< Wrestling
Popular on
Load More