Print RSS
Oklahoma Captures Fifth Big 12 Gymnastics Championship Title
March 24, 2012

Championship Central
Photo Gallery
Final Results

NORMAN, Okla. - In front of their home crowd, the second-ranked Oklahoma Sooners captured their fifth overall Big 12 Gymnastics Championship with a season-high score of 197.475 Saturday at the Lloyd Noble Center in Norman, Okla.

Iowa State and Missouri finished with a team scores of 196.025, tying for second place.

OU led through all rotations, paced by senior Megan Ferguson. She posted a 9.925 on bars to garner the title and is the first gymnast to earn above a 9.90 at the Championship on the apparatus since 2003. Defending her 2011 Big 12 beam title, she received a 9.950 earning top honors for the second-straight year. Ferguson also shared second-place honors on the floor with a 9.875.

Sooner teammate Brie Olson claimed the all-around title with a 39.500 mark. Olson is the first OU gymnast to win the all-around title since Brittney Koncak-Schumann earned the distinction in 2006. Missouri's Rachel Updike placed second in the event with a 39.400 showing.

Celine Paulus (Iowa State) became the second Cyclone to earn the Big 12 vault title with her 9.950 mark. Katelyn Trevino (Missouri) received her first floor title this season as she was named the Big 12 floor champion with a 9.900.

At the conclusion of the meet, the Conference also announced the annual awards as determined by a pre-championship vote of the league's head coaches.

MU's Mary Burke was recognized as Gymnast of the Year, becoming the second Tiger to be awarded the accolade (Sarah Shire, 2009, 2010). Ferguson was named Event Specialist of the Year, and Updike earned Newcomer of the Year.

OU's K.J. Kindler took home the Big 12 Coach of the Year award for the sixth time in her career and her third as head coach of the Sooners.

The All-Big 12 Championship team was selected at the conference championship, which included the top three finishers plus ties from each event and the top four in the all-around competition.

The conference's three squads will await their fate with NCAA Regional selections announced on Monday, March 26. The NCAA Championships will be held April 20-22 at The Arena at Gwinnett Center in Duluth, Ga.

2012 Final Team Results

Team Vault Bars Beam Floor Total
Oklahoma 49.225 49.475 49.475 49.300 197.475
Iowa State 49.250 49.200 48.850 48.725 196.025
Missouri 49.000 49.000 48.900 49.125 196.025

2012 Big 12 Champio
ship Team
Vault: Celine Paulus, ISU (9.950); Brie Olson, OU (9.875), Rachel Updike, MU (9.875), Michelle Browning, ISU (9.875), Hayden Ward, OU (9.875)
Bars: Megan Ferguson, OU (9.925); Brie Olson, OU (9.900), Candance Cindell, OU (9.900); Mary Burke, MU (9.875), Taylor Spears, OU (9.875), Erica Brewer, OU (9.875), Hayden Ward, OU (9.875), Henrietta Green, ISU (9.875)
Beam: Megan Ferguson, OU (9.950); Madison Mooring, OU (9.900), Sara Stone, OU (9.900); Taylor Spears, OU (9.875)
Floor: Katelyn Trevino, MU (9.900); Brie Olson, OU (9.875), Rachel Updike, MU (9.875), Megan Ferguson, OU (9.875); Taylor Spears, OU (9.850), Madison Mooring, OU (9.850), Sara Stone, OU (9.850)
All-Around: Brie Olson, OU (39.500); Rachel Updike, MU (39.400); Celine Paulus, ISU (39.350); Mary Burke, MU (39.325)

2012 Big 12 Awards
Gymnast of the Year: Mary Burke, Missouri
Event Specialist of the Year: Megan Ferguson, Oklahoma
Newcomer of the Year: Rachel Updike, Missouri
Coach of the Year: K.J. Kindler, Oklahoma

< Gymnastics
Popular on
Load More