Print RSS
All-Big 12 Tennis Teams and Awards Unveiled
May 08, 2012

The Big 12 Conference has announced its 2012 All-Big 12 tennis teams and postseason awards as selected by the league's head coaches.

On the men's side, Big 12 regular season and postseason champion Oklahoma had representives win three of the four yearly awards, including head coach John Roddick securing the Coach of the Year accolade. The Sooners top two singles players were also honored as Costin Paval was named Player of the Year and Guillermo Alcorta ganered the Newcomer of the Year award. Baylor's Mate Zsiga took home Freshman of the Year honors.

This season, Roddick guided the Sooners to a perfect 5-0 mark in Big 12 play for their first conference title in the Big 12 era. The third-year head coach has OU currently ranked No. 12 in the country, and later this week the Sooners will host the first and second rounds of the NCAA Championship for a third straight year. With an 18-3 overall record, Oklahoma is the No. 10 seed in this year's championship. Roddick becomes the first Oklahoma men's tennis coach to win the Big 12's Coach of the Year honor.

Paval followed in the footsteps of his coach by breaking new ground for the OU program, becoming the first Sooner to score the league's Player of the Year award. The junior has gone 15-3 this season for Oklahoma at the No. 1 position, including a 4-1 mark in conference action. Paval won the Big 12's Freshman of the Year in 2010 and was selected as the Big 12's Player of the Week twice this season. He is currently the highest ranked Big 12 player in the ITA singles listings at No. 14, earning the league's automatic bid into the NCAA singles and doubles championships at the end of the month.

After redshirting in 2011, Alcorta burst onto the scene for Oklahoma to record a 16-4 combined record at the No. 2 and 3 positions. Against conference competition, the sophomore was 5-0 to help the Sooners to both conference crowns. He is currently ranked No. 63 by the ITA. Like Roddick and Paval, Alcorta becomes the first Sooner to be named the league's Newcomer of the Year.

Zsiga is the seventh Baylor player to win Freshman of the Year honors, but the first since 2005. The Hungarian-native was a force at the top of the BU lineup, racking up a 20-4 dual-match record and a 4-1 mark in Big 12 play. He went 14-7 against ranked opponents to be currently ranked 14th in the country. Zsiga also earned an invite to the individual portion of the NCAA Tennis Championship.

On the women's side, Texas A&M junior transfer Cristina Sanchez-Quintanar tallied both the Player and Newcomer of the Year honors. Todd Petty, who directed Texas Tech to the first conference title in program history, was selected as the league's top coach, while Texas' Lina Padegimaite earned the Freshman of the Year honor.

Sanchez-Quintanar powered Texas A&M to a tie for second place in the Big 12 and an appearance in the Big 12 Championship title match. This season, the Maryland-transfer is 22-1 in dual-match play and recorded an unblemished 9-0 league record at the No. 1 position. She has been ranked as high as No. 4 this season by the ITA, but currently sits as the No. 8 singles player in the country. Sanchez-Quintanar becomes the first Aggie female to earn Player of the Year honors and the third to garner the newcomer distinction. The native of Spain earned a spot in this month's NCAA singles and doubles championships. Sanchez-Quintanar is the first female player to win both awards in the same year and the second to earn them during a career as she joins Oklahoma's Anda Perianu in that category.

For a second straight year, Texas Tech head coach Todd Petty was selected as the Coach of the Year by his peers. Under his leadership, the Lady Raiders earned the program's first conference title and first NCAA Championship selection. On the year, Texas Tech is 19-5 and currently ranked No. 21. TTU finished Big 12 play 8-1 with wins over Baylor and Texas A&M. Petty joins former Texas A&M coach Bobby Kleinecke and Baylor's Joey Scrivano as the only coaches in league history to win the award in consecutive years.

Padegimaite was 19-4 in dual-match play for the Longhorns and an unbeaten 9-0 in Big 12 action. She becomes the third UT player to recieve the distinction and the first since Vanja Corovic in 2007.

The men's All-Big 12 singles team is comprised of four players from Oklahoma, three from Texas, two from Baylor and Texas Tech and one from Texas A&M. On the doubles squad, two Oklahoma tandems received recognition along with one team from Baylor, Texas, Texas A&M and Texas Tech. Red Raider Raony Carvalho became a four-time honoree on both the singles and doubles teams.

For the women, BU and Texas A&M each had three members on the singles team, while Kansas State and Texas had two and Oklahoma and Texas Tech each had one representative. Baylor, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Texas, Texas A&M and Texas Tech each had one doubles team make the list.

The All-Big 12 tennis teams and awards are selected by the league's head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes.

Men’s Player of the Year Women’s Player of the Year
Costin Paval, Oklahoma, Jr.* Cristina Sanchez-Quintanar, Texas A&M, Jr.
Men's Newcomer of the Year Women's Newcomer of the Year
Guillermo Alcorta, Oklahoma, So.* Cristina Sanchez-Quintanar, Texas A&M, Jr.
Men's Freshman of the Year Women's Freshman of the Year
Mate Zsiga, Baylor, Fr.*         Lina Padegimaite, Texas, Fr.
Men's Coach of the Year Women's Coach of the Year
John Roddick, Oklahoma* Todd Petty, Texas Tech

Singles Singles
Roberto Maytin, Baylor, Jr.
Diana Nakic, Baylor, Sr.
Mate Zsiga, Baylor, Fr.*
Sona Novakova, Baylor, Sr.
Guillermo Alcorta, Oklahoma, So.*
Nina Secerbegovic, Baylor, Jr.*
Costin Paval, Oklahoma, Jr.*
Karla Bonacic, Kansas State, Jr.
Peerakit Siributwong, Oklahoma, So.*
Petra Niedermayerova, Kansas State, Fr.*
Dane Webb, Oklahoma, Fr.
Whitney Ritchie, Oklahoma, So.*
Soren Hess-Olesen, Texas, Fr.*
Krista Damico, Texas, Sr.*
Sudanwa Sitaram, Texas, So.*
Aeriel Ellis, Texas, Jr.
Daniel Whitehead, Texas, Jr.
Cristina Sanchez-Quintanar, Texas A&M, Jr.*
Alexis Klegou, Texas A&M, Sr.*
Wen Sun, Texas A&M, Jr.
Raony Carvalho, Texas Tech, Jr.* Nazari Urbina, Texas A&M, So.*
Gonzalo Escobar, Texas Tech, Jr. Samantha Adams, Texas Tech, So.

Doubles Doubles
Roberto Maytin, Jr./Kike Grangeiro,Sr., Baylor*
Nina Secerbegovic, Sr./Ema Burgic, Fr., Baylor*
Tsvetan Mihov, So./Peerakit Siributwong, So., Oklahoma*    
Petra Niedermayerova, So./Karla Bonacic, Jr., Kansas State
Costin Paval, Jr./Dane Webb, Fr., Oklahoma*
Marie-Pier Huet, Sr./Whitney Ritchie, So., Oklahoma
David Holiner, So./Chris Camillone, Jr. Texas*
Noel Scott, Fr./Lina Padegimaite, Fr., Texas
Junior Ore, So./Jackson Withrow Fr., Texas A&M
Cristina Sanchez-Quintanar, Jr./Wen Sun, Jr., Texas A&M*
Gonzalo Escobar, Sr./Raony Carvalho, Sr., Texas Tech*           
Kenna Kilgo, Fr./Samantha Adams, So., Texas Tech

* - Unanimous Selection

< Tennis
Popular on
Load More