Print RSS
Griner and Griffin III Earn ESPY Awards
July 12, 2012
Baylor's Brittney Griner earned both Female Athlete of the Year and Female College Athlete of the Year, while Robert Griffin III earned the Male College Athlete of the Year honor at the 2012 ESPY Awards handed out in Los Angeles.

Griner became just the sixth player in the ESPYs 20-year history to claim both Female Athlete of the Year and Female College Athlete of the Year honors. Griner, a 6-8 post, led the Lady Bears to the 2012 NCAA National Championship, with an unprecedented 40-0 record, was the consensus national player of the year and also won the coveted Honda Cup.

Griner, a Houston native, joins Candace Parker (2008), Taryne Mowatt (2007), Diana Taurasi (2004), Chamique Holdsclaw (1999) and Rebecca Lobo (1996) in claiming double honors. Parker, Taurasi, Holdsclaw and Lobo all played basketball, while Mowatt played softball at Arizona. Holdsclaw and Lobo were named Best Female College Basketball Player of the Year, as there wasn't a Female College Athlete of the Year category at that time.

The Lady Bears were a nominee for Best Team but the Miami Heat won the ESPY.

Griffin III led Baylor to just its second 10-victory season of all-time, and its first since 1980. The 2011 Heisman Trophy winner set or tied 54 school records in three full seasons at Baylor, finishing the 2011 season with school records of 4,293 yards, 37 passing touchdowns and a passer efficiency rating of 189.5 (second-best in NCAA FBS history). A native of Copperas Cove, Texas, and graduate of Copperas Cove High School, Griffin III earned second-team Academic All-America honors from Capital One/CoSIDA in 2011 and is a 2010 Baylor graduate with a degree in political science. RG3 was selected No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins in April's NFL Draft.

< Women's Basketball
Popular on
Load More