Print RSS
Big 12 Places Five Quarterbacks on O達rien Watch List
July 18, 2012

The Davey O'Brien Foundation named five Big 12 quarterbacks to its 2012 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® Watch List.

Two 2011 semifinalists return to this year's watch list in Landry Jones (Oklahoma) and Seth Doege (Texas Tech). Collin Klein (Kansas State) and Big 12 newcomers Casey Pachall (TCU) and Geno Smith (West Virginia) round out the list that includes 34 of the nation's best college quarterbacks.

The O'Brien is presented annually to the top college quarterback and is the oldest national quarterback award. The award is named after TCU quarterback Davey O'Brien, who, in 1938, became the first player to win the Heisman, Maxwell and Walter Camp trophies in the same year.

Student-athletes on the watch list are chosen by the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2012 season.

Appearing on the watch list is not a requirement for a player to be awarded The O'Brien. Quarterbacks from all 124 Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award. The field will be narrowed down to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 22 with three finalists being announced on Nov. 19.

The 2012 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards show on Thursday, Dec. 6. The 36th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 18, 2013 in Fort Worth, Texas.

< Football
Popular on
Load More