Print RSS
UTís Webster, McCage Highlight 2012 Volleyball Preseason Honors
August 07, 2012
The 2011 Big 12 champion Texas Longhorns highlight the 2012 edition of the Conference's volleyball preseason team and awards. Texas tabbed three preseason team selections and swept the preseason individual honors as Bailey Webster and Molly McCage were named Preseason Player and Freshman of the Year, respectively.

Along with the Longhorns, Iowa State and K-State each garnered a trio of preseason team members.

The team and awards are chosen by league coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes.

Webster, a junior and the 2011 Big 12 Player of the Year, finished last year fourth in Big 12 matches in hitting percentage with a .348 mark. She also averaged 3.26 kills (ninth) and 3.78 (10th) points in conference contests for the fourth-ranked Longhorns. The Baltimore, Md.-native became only the third underclassman to garner Player of the Year honors and first since 2005. Playing in every match for UT in 2011, Webster recorded 307 kills, while hitting .340 with 36 digs, 89 blocks and 362 points. She was named to the AVCA All-America first team and guided the ‘Horns to their sixth straight NCAA Regional Semifinal appearance.

McCage, a 6-3 middle blocker from Spring, Texas, played for the 2011 United States Girls' Youth National Team that competed at the World Championship. While at Klein Collins High School, she earned 2011 Prep Volleyball and Under Armour High School All-American honors. In 2011, Prep Volleyball tabbed her as one of the nation's Top 25 Junior Recruits, while Volleyball Magazine listed her as a Top 25 Underclassmen to Watch. Entering her first season at Texas, she was ranked No. 1 nationally by Prep Volleyball in 2012.

Webster also headlines the 2012 Big 12 Preseason Team as she is one of seven members selected unanimously. Torri Campbell (Baylor), Alison Landwehr (Iowa State), Caroline Jarmoc (Kansas), Kaitlynn Pelger (Kansas State), Sallie McLaurin (Oklahoma) and Haley Eckerman (Texas) were also chosen unanimously.

Along with Webster and Eckerman, UT's Khat Bell also earned preseason team accolades. Iowa State placed 2011 Libero of the Year Kristen Hahn and 2011 All-Big 12 first team honoree Jamie Straube along with Landwehr. K-State's three selections included Pelger, Caitlyn Donahue and Lilla Porubek.

Oklahoma placed a pair of members on the team as Tara Dunn joins McLaurin. Baylor, Kansas, TCU and Texas Tech represented with one member each. The Big 12 Preseason Team consists of five seniors, seven juniors and three sophomores. Five members from the 2011 All-Big 12 First Team were named preseason team members.

The 2012 Big 12 Volleyball Preseason Poll will be announced on Wednesday, Aug. 8. Big 12 teams open the season the weekend of Aug. 24, while conference action is slated to begin on Sept. 19.

Preseason Player of the Year: Bailey Webster, Texas, OH, 6-2, Jr., Baltimore, Md./St. Paul's School for Girls
Preseason Freshman of the Year: Molly McCage, Texas, MB, 6-3, Fr., Spring, Texas/Klein Collins


Name, School Pos.    Ht.  Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Torri Campbell, Baylor^ MB 6-2 Sr. Amarillo, Texas/Amarillo
Kristen Hahn, Iowa State DS/L 5-6 Jr. Cedar Rapids, Iowa/Kennedy
Alison Landwehr, Iowa State^ S 6-0 Sr. St. Louis, Mo./Parkway West
Jamie Straube, Iowa State MB 6-2 Sr. Tecumseh, Neb./Johnson County Central
Caroline Jarmoc, Kansas^ MB 6-2 RJr. Calgary, Alberta, Canada/Springbank Community
Caitlyn Donahue, Kansas State S 5-9 Sr. Overland Park, Kan./Blue Valley West
Kaitlynn Pelger, Kansas State^ MB 6-2 Jr. Olathe, Kan./Olathe South
Lilla Porubek, Kansas State OH 6-1 Jr. Budapest, Hungary
Tara Dunn, Oklahoma OH 6-2 So. Poth, Texas/Poth
Sallie McLaurin, Oklahoma^ MB 6-2 Jr. Midwest City, Okla./Carl Albert
Yvonne Igodan, TCU MB 6-2 Jr. Houston, Texas/Hightower
Khat Bell, Texas MB/OH 6-1 So. Mesquite, Texas/North Mesquite
Haley Eckerman, Texas^ OH 6-3 So. Waterloo, Iowa/East
Bailey Webster, Texas^ OH 6-3 Jr. Baltimore, Md./St. Paul's School for Girls
Miara Cave, Texas Tech OH 5-11 Sr. San Antonio, Texas/Roosevelt

Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.

^ - Unanimous Selection
Ties in voting created a 15-member team

< Volleyball
Popular on
Load More