Print RSS
Five Student-Athletes Named Campbell Trophy Semifinalists
September 27, 2012

Five Big 12 seniors have been selected as semifinalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame announced Thursday.

Nick Florence (Baylor), Carter Bykowski (Iowa State), Marquise Goodwin (Texas), Cody Davis (Texas Tech) and Jeff Braun (West Virginia) are among 50 semifinalists representing the Football Bowl Subdivision.

The Campbell Trophy is in its 23rd year honoring college football's top scholar-athlete. Candidates must be seniors or graduate students in their final years of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

The NFF Awards Committee will announce up to 16 finalists Oct. 25. Each finalist will be recognized as part of the 2012 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, receiving an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. Each member of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class will travel to New York City to be honored at the 55th NFF Annual Awards Dinner Dec. 4 at the Waldorf Astoria, and the winner of the Campbell Trophy will be announced at the dinner.

< Football
Popular on
Load More