Print RSS
Florence and Davis Recipients of NFF Scholar-Athlete Awards
October 24, 2012
Nick Florence (Baylor) and Cody Davis (Texas Tech) are among 15 collegiate football players to win $18,000 postgraduate scholarships as part of the 54th National Football Foundation (NFF) Scholar-Athlete Class.

The honorees also comprise the list of finalists for the 2012 William V. Campbell Trophy, which recognizes an individual as the best scholar-athlete in the nation. The 15 finalists were selected from a nationwide pool of 147 semifinalists from among all NCAA divisions and the NAIA.

The NFF's National Scholar-Athlete program, launched in 1959, is the first initiative in history to award scholar-athletes postgraduate scholarships for their combined athletic, academic and leadership abilities. Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a grade point average of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

Each member of the 2012 National Scholar-Athlete Class will travel to New York City to be honored December 4 during the 55th NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the Waldorf-Astoria.

< Football
Popular on
Load More