Print RSS
Big 12 Volleyball Weekly Notes Package
November 27, 2012

Current Volleyball Notes in PDF

Five Big 12 volleyball squads earned berths to the 2012 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship. Texas (No. 3), Kansas (No. 11) and Iowa State (No. 15) claimed national seeds and will host first and second rounds. Kansas State and Oklahoma round out the Big 12's quintet of selections. First and second round action is slated for Thursday, Nov. 29-Sunday, Dec. 2.

This is the fourth straight season five or more Big 12 teams have earned bids to the NCAA postseason event. The league has sent at least five teams to the tournament in all but one season. Overall, the Big 12 has earned 102 bids in 17 years of competition. The Conference is 155-95 in NCAA postseason play, a winning mark of .620. The Big 12 is 72-22 in the first round of NCAA action.

Iowa State is on a 10-match winning streak and broke a record during the regular season with six wins over top-25 opponents. ISU has posted a 19-4 record since opening the year 1-3. The Cyclones are making their seventh consecutive NCAA appearance.

Kansas is making its first NCAA appearance since 2005 and will host postseason action for the first time in school history. With 25 wins to close out the regular season, the Jayhawks have tallied their most victories since 1991.

Texas will be making its 28th overall NCAA appearance, while the Wildcats travel to Lincoln for opening round action for the second straight year. This is Oklahoma's sixth berth in the last seven years as the Sooners travel to Provo.

The Cyclones spoiled Texas' chance at the first perfect conference season since 2004 as ISU defeated UT 3-2 in Ames last Saturday to close out the regular season. It snapped Texas' 28-match Big 12 win streak. Both teams finished 2012 undefeated at home in league play. The feat has been achieved on 20 total occasions, including six other times by Texas. This marks the third season (2005, ‘07) that multiple teams have been perfect in conference play at home.

For the second straight year, six or more Big 12 teams have recorded 20+ wins. This marks just the third time in league history that six-plus squads have hit the 20-win mark (six in 2011 & seven in 1997).

The Big 12 is 94-29 against non-conference competition this year, including an 11-10 record against ranked teams outside the Big 12.

For the fourth straight year, Texas claimed the league's Player of the Year honor as Haley Eckerman won the award. Four Cyclones collected honors - Kristen Hahn (Libero of the Year), Alison Landwehr (Setter of the Year), Mackenzie Bigbee (Freshman of the Year) and Jamie Straube (Scholar-Athlete of the Year). Kansas' Tayler Tolefree also earned Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors while KU head coach Ray Bechard was awarded Coach of the Year.

Five Big 12 teams are ranked in this week's NCAA RPI top 30 - Texas (3), Kansas (7), Iowa State (18), Kansas State (23) and Oklahoma (27). The Big 12 is one of four leagues with five teams ranked in the top 30.

< Volleyball
Popular on
Load More