Print RSS
Ten Big 12 Tennis Squads Selected to NCAA Championship Field
April 30, 2013

For the second year in a row, 10 Big 12 Conference tennis squads have been selected to compete in the NCAA Men’s and Women’s Tennis Championships. Six women’s teams earned spots in the 64-team field while four men’s teams punched tickets. The six women’s selections are the most for the Conference since 2003.

First and second round competition will be conducted May 10-12 at various campus locations. Each bracket contains16 host sites, in which four teams will square off in a single elimination format for the right to advance to the Round of 16. The final 16 teams in the men’s and women’s brackets will go head-to-head at the Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex in Urbana, Ill., May 16-21 to crown a national champion.

Regular season champion Baylor (20-5) and postseason champions Oklahoma (19-6) will both host first and second round action on the men’s side. The Bears are making their 16th straight NCAA appearance and will face Prairie View A&M (9-15) in Waco, Texas, while the Sooners are in for the fourth year in a row and will take on Wichita State (17-7) at Headington Family Tennis Center.

Texas (16-8) will make its 22nd consecutive appearance when it faces Texas A&M-Corpus Christi (16-7) in College Station, Texas, on Friday, May 10. The Longhorns hold a 13-1 record in the round of 64.

The TCU Horned Frogs (18-9) will square off against Drake (24-3) in first-round action in Los Angeles. This is TCU’s 25th appearance in program history, but first since 2010.

On the women’s side, regular season co-champion Texas Tech will play host to first and second round competition for the first time in school history. The Lady Raiders (19-6) will battle College of Charleston (20-8) on May 10.

The other regular season co-champion Baylor (16-14) is making its ninth-straight NCAA appearance and will face San Diego State (22-5) in first round action. BU has made the Round of 16 in each of the last eight seasons, including five appearances in the Elite Eight and Final Four berths in 2008 and 2011.

Oklahoma (13-9) will travel to Athens, Ga., to face No. 26 Arizona State (16-5) in the first round. The selection marks the eighth time in program history and third time under Mullins OU has qualified for the NCAA Championships. The Sooners fell to Arizona State, 5-2, in the 2013 ITA Kick-Off Weekend in Miami, Fla., Jan. 25.

Fresh off a Big 12 Championship final appearance, the Oklahoma State Cowgirls (15-8) will travel to host site UCLA to take on Long Beach State (21-3). This marks OSU’s 15th overall appearance in the tournament, and its first back-to-back trips since 1991. 

The TCU women (17-6) received a bid to the NCAA Championships for the second year in a row and 15th time in school history as they will face North Texas (18-5) on May 11 in College Station, Texas.

After winning their ninth Big 12 Championship crown, the Texas Longhorns (17-10) will travel to Charlottesville, Va., to take on William & Mary (17-5) in the first round. The two-time NCAA champion Longhorns are making their 31st consecutive NCAA tournament appearance. Texas reached the round of 16 at the 2012 NCAA Championship.

Every match of the 2013 championships will be a regulation dual match with three eight-game, pro-set doubles played for one team point, followed by six singles matches, each valued at one team point, played best of three sets. Regular scoring will be used and a 12-point tiebreaker will be played at eight games all in doubles and at six games all in singles.

The NCAA singles and doubles championships will take place May 22-27. Selections for those tournaments will be announced on Wednesday, May 1.

< Tennis
Popular on
Load More