Print RSS
Bryce Petty Added To Maxwell Award Watch List
October 09, 2013

Baylor junior quarterback Bryce Petty was one of only 12 players nationally added to the watch list for the 77th Maxwell Award, the Maxwell Football Club announced on Wednesday.

To open 2013, Petty has produced FBS-leading numbers for passing efficiency (229.6) and passing yards per completion (20.1). He has amassed 1,348 yards through the air by completing 67 of 92 passes with 10 touchdowns. Petty’s 337.0 passing yards per game and completion percentage of 72.8 lead the Big 12. He also has 14 carries for 60 yards and three touchdowns on the ground.

The offense that Petty directs currently leads the country in scoring (70.5 ppg.), total offense (779.3 ypg.) and passing (432.3 ypg.).

With Petty and the starting offense on the field, the Bears have had 36 drives that have resulted in 31 scores (30 touchdowns and one field goal).

He has led Baylor to its first 4-0 start since 1991 and a No. 15 ranking in both the AP Top 25 and the USA Today Coaches Poll.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the outstanding collegiate football player in America since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert W. “Tiny” Maxwell.

Petty, a native of Midlothian, Texas, joins teammate Lache Seastrunk, who was on the award’s original watch list that was released in July, as candidates.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced Oct. 29, while three finalists will be unveiled Nov. 25. The winners of the 2013 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 12. The formal presentations of the awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 7.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, which analyzes both past performance and future potential. The Club reserves the right to make additions and deletions to these lists as the 2013 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, FBS head coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for the awards.

Big 12 Maxwell Award Watch List
David Ash, QB, Texas
Blake Bell, QB, Oklahoma
John Hubert, RB, Kansas Stat
Casey Pachall, QB, TCU
Bryce Petty, QB, Baylor
Lache Seastrunk, RB, Baylor
Charles Sims, RB, West Virginia
< Football
Popular on
Load More