Print RSS
Colvin, Verrett and Zimmerman Named Thorpe Award Semifinalists
October 28, 2013

Ty Zimmerman (Kansas State), Aaron Colvin (Oklahoma), and Jason Verrett (TCU) have been named semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award, given to the top defensive back in college football.

Zimmerman has recorded 55 tackles this season, tied for fifth in the Big 12. He picked off his 11th career pass against Louisiana and returned it 32 yards for his first career touchdown. He is tied for sixth in school history in career interceptions and ranks fourth in career interception-return yards (178). In addition, Zimmerman has broken up four other passes, has three tackles for loss and forced a fumble last week against West Virginia that led to a K-State touchdown.

Colvin serves as one of Oklahoma’s captains for the 2013 season, ranking fourth on the squad with 39 tackles (30 solo). He is third on the team with 5.0 tackles for loss (-11 yards) and also has an interception, a sack, a fumble recovery and three pass breakups.

Verrett has accumulated 28 total tackles, 3.5 tackles for loss and 1.0 sack this season. He leads the Big 12 with 12 passes defended.

The Thorpe Award is presented by the Jim Thorpe Association in Oklahoma City, Okla.

The Three Thorpe Award finalists will be named on Monday, November 25, and the winner will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show December 12 airing on ESPN.
< Football
Popular on
Load More