Print RSS
Texas Women Finish Second at NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships
March 15, 2014

The Texas women’s squad claimed second place at the NCAA Indoor Track & Field Champions at the Albuquerque Convention Center in Albuquerque, N.M. For the men, Oklahoma State was the highest placed team in the league tied at sixth.

The two day event, on the women’s side, all came down to the final race in the women’s 4x400m. Georgia, without an entry, sat at 40.5 points with Texas and Florida tied in second at 35.5 and Oregon at fourth with 34. Texas, Florida and Oregon each had an entry in the final heat.

In the race, Oregon came back in the anchor to push past Texas and claim the title with a time of 3:27.40 and the Longhorns finished at 3:27.42. Oregon barely edged out Texas with final team scores of 44.0 and 43.5, respectively.  

Individually, the Conference collected five event crowns.

Texas’ Kaitlin Petrillose set a collegiate record on her way to a national title in the pole vault. The sophomore followed-up her stellar Big 12 Championships performance by clearing 15-1 (4.60m). It is Texas’ first women’s title in the event.

The Longhorns received another individual crown in the men’s shot put. Ryan Crouser finished with a best mark of 69-7 (21.21m), nearly four feet further than second place.

Iowa State’s Christina Hillman threw for a personal-best 59-6.75 (18.15m) to capture the women’s shot put title.

Baylor sophomore Felix Obi won the triple jump title with a jump of 54-5.25 (16.59m). Obi claimed the title at the 2014 Big 12 Championships in Ames.

The Horned Frogs joined with their own title in the women’s long jump after Lorraine Ugen leapt 22-1 (6.73m) to garner the crown.

MEN'S TEAM FINISHES                  
T6.      Oklahoma State, 20.00
T20.    Texas, 11.00
T22.    Baylor, 10.00
T26.     Iowa State, 8.00
T30.     Texas Tech, 7.00
69.       Kansas State, .50

WOMEN'S TEAM FINISHES                  
2.         Texas, 43.50
15.       Oklahoma State, 14.00
T19.     TCU, 10.00
T19.     Iowa State, 10.00
T27.     Baylor, 9.00
T39.     Kansas, 5.00

Shot Put – Ryan Crouser, Texas
Triple Jump – Felix Obi, Baylor

Shot Put - Christina Hillman, Iowa State
Long Jump – Lorraine Ugen, TCU
Pole Vault – Kaitlin Petrillose, Texas

< Track
Popular on
Load More