Print RSS
Sims Named Naismith Trophy Finalist
March 21, 2014
Odyssey Sims (Baylor) is one of four finalists for the 2014 Naismith Trophy, presented by AT&T to the women’s college basketball player of the year, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced.

Other finalists are Kayla McBride (Notre Dame), Chiney Ogwumike (Stanford) and Breanna Stewart (Connecticut).

Sims, a 5-8 senior guard, was the Big 12 Player of the Year, Big 12 Defensive Players of the Year, All-Big 12 first-team, Big 12 All-Defensive team and was recently named to the Big 12 Championship All-Tournament team.

The two-time All-American is averaging 28.4 points per game, which ranks No. 2 nationally, 4.6 assists, 4.5 rebounds and 2.0 steals. She is shooting .445 from the floor, .405 from 3-point range and .799 from the free throw line. Sims holds school career records in assists (619) and made 3-pointers (249) – her 89 threes made this season set a BU single-season record.

The finalists were chosen by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s National Voting Academy, which determined that the player performances throughout the 2013-14 regular season stood out among a host of great women’s basketball players. The 2014 Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year presented by AT&T will be awarded to one of these four finalists on April 7, 2014, in Nashville, Tenn.

For the 10th-consecutive year, fans will have the opportunity to vote for the player of their choice and help determine the 2014 Naismith Trophy winner. Beginning March 24 and running through April 5 fans can cast their vote through the online and mobile optimized site The fan vote represents 25 percent of the selection process – the largest fan impact of any collegiate basketball award.


< Women's Basketball
Popular on
Load More