Print RSS
Longhorns Claim Consecutive Big 12 Menís Golf Championship Titles
April 27, 2014


TRINITY, Texas -- Texas captured its fifth team title at the 2014 Big 12 Men’s Golf Championship at Whispering Pines Golf Club in Trinity, Texas on Sunday.

The Longhorns came into the final round at 3-plus-par, trailing Texas Tech by one stroke. UT took advantage of the Red Raiders 7-over-par day with a 3-plus-par 291 round to finish with a 72-hole 6-plus-par 1158 and secure a three-stroke victory.

This is Texas’ first time to claim back-to-back Big 12 titles since winning three-straight in 2002-04.

Texas Tech’s second-place finish (1161) was its highest in Big 12 championship history. The fourth-ranked Oklahoma State Cowboys made a push for second, shooting an 11-under-par final round, but ultimately came up three-strokes short of Tech.

TCU junior Julien Brun claimed the individual crown, carding a 72-hole score of 277, 11-under-par. Brun’s score marks the lowest Whispering Pines course score and second lowest score in Big 12 championship history. The junior concluded the championship with back-to-back 66 round days.

Iowa State’s Sam Daley placed second, the highest finish in Cyclone history, with a 2-under-par 286 performance. OSU’s Talor Gooch and UT’s Beau Hossler tied for third at 288.

Oklahoma’s Beau Titsworth and Texas’ Toni Hakula tied for fifth. Daniel Wood (K-State) and Clement Sordet (Texas Tech) tied for seventh. Also making the Big 12 All-Tournament, in an eight-way tie for ninth, was Jordan Niebrugge (OSU), Zachary Olsen (OSU), Chelso Barrett (TCU), Nick Voke (ISU), Hannes Ronneblad (TTU), Brax McCarthy (UT), Kramer Hickok (UT) and Ruben Sondjaja (ISU).

The top 10 finishers, including ties, are named to the All-Tournament squad.

Selections for the NCAA Regionals will be announced Monday, May 5 from 10-11 a.m. CT during Morning Drive, Golf Channel’s daily morning news and lifestyle show.

Final Team Results
1. Texas
2. Texas Tech
3. Oklahoma State
4. Iowa State
5. TCU
6. Baylor
7. Oklahoma
8. Kansas
9. Kansas State


Big 12 All-Tournament Team
1. Julien Brun, TCU 74-71-66-66=277
2. Sam Daley, ISU 72-74-69-71=286
T3. Talor Gooch, OSU 74-76-71-67=288
T3. Beau Hossler, UT 72-69-73-74=288
T5. Beau Titsworth, OU 73-72-73-72=290
T5. Toni Hakula, UT 71-70-69-73=290
T7. Daniel Wood, K-State 79-74-69-69=291
T7. Clement Sordet, TTU 74-75-70-72=291
T9. Jordan Niebrugge  OSU 74-78-73-68=293
T9. Zachary Olsen, OSU 73-73-75-72=293
T9. Chelso Barrett, TCU 74-73-74-72=293
T9. Nick Voke, ISU 71-75-79-68=293
T9. Hannes Ronneblad, ISU 71-75-72-73=293
T9. Brax McCarthy, UT 73-76-72-72=293
T9. Kramer Hickok, UT 71-70-74-78=293
T9. Ruben Sondjaja, ISU 76-77-70-70=293

< Golf
Popular on
Load More