Print RSS
Big 12 Rowing Teams Set to Compete for League Crown
May 02, 2014

Big 12 rowing teams will descend upon Oklahoma City for the third full-sponsored Big 12 Rowing Championship. The event will be held at the Chesapeake Boathouse on Saturday, May 3. Each of the league's five rowing teams will be participating in the six-race event set to begin at 9:55 am CT.

Prior to the 2012 season, rowing was sponsored on a limited basis by the Big 12 for three years. The Conference recognizes the three titles won by Texas in those years (2009-'11). The Longhorns also claimed the title in 2012 giving UT four overall titles in the sport.

Last season, Oklahoma claimed its first title when the Sooners picked up 136 points at Wyandotte County Lake in Kansas City, Kan. Texas placed second with 117 points. Kansas recorded a third place finish (81 points) while West Virginia and Kansas State rounded out the rankings at fourth (75 points) and fifth (66 points), respectively.

The six races scheduled to take place include the first varsity eight, the second varsity eight, the first varsity four, the second varsity four, the third varsity eight and the fourth varsity eight. Teams score points for their finish in each race with the first and second varsity eight and the first varsity four races carrying significantly more weight than the other three.

This week, coaches voted on the seeding for the top three races, which in turn determines the lane assignments for the event. The highest seeded team received lane four, the second seed lane three, the third seed lane five, the fourth seed lane two and the fifth seed lane six. The other three race lane assignments were determined by a random draw. Lane assignments can be changed based on weather conditions on race day.

2014 Big 12 Rowing Championship Lane Assignments

Lane Institution Seed   Lane Institution
First Varsity Eight     Third Varsity Eight
2 K-State 1    2 Oklahoma
3 Oklahoma 2    3 K-State
4 Kansas 3    4 West Virginia
5 Texas 4    5 Texas
6 West Virginia 5    6 Kansas
Second Varsity Eight     Fourth Varsity Eight
2 K-State 1    2 Kansas
3 Oklahoma 2    3 K-State
4 Kansas 3    4 Oklahoma
5 Texas 4    5 West Virginia
6 West Virginia 5    6 Texas
First Varsity Four     Second Varsity Four
2 Texas 1   2 K-State
3 Kansas 2   3 Texas
4 Oklahoma 3   4 Kansas
5 K-State 4   5 West Virginia
6 West Virginia 5   6 Oklahoma
< Rowing
Popular on
Load More