Print RSS
Semifinalists for 2015 Campbell Trophy Announced
September 24, 2015

The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) have announced the semifinalists for the 2015 William V. Campbell Trophy, including five players from the Big 12. The Campbell Trophy recognizes an individual as the best football scholar-athlete in the nation.

Candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

Spencer Drango (OT, Baylor), Stanton Weber (WR, Kansas State), Ty Darlington (C, Oklahoma), Jaden Oberkrom (K, TCU) and John DePalma (LS, West Virginia) represent the Big 12 as semifinalists. The last Big 12 Conference player to win the Campbell Trophy was Sam Acho (DE, Texas) in 2010.

The NFF will announce 15 finalists on Oct. 29, and each of them will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class. The finalists will then travel to New York City for the 58th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 8, where the winner of the 26th William V. Campbell Trophy will have his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000.

A total distribution of more than $300,000 in scholarships will be awarded at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner, pushing the program’s all-time distribution to more than $11 million.

< Football
Popular on
Load More