Print RSS
Four Coaches Named to Dodd Trophy Watch List
October 16, 2015

Baylor’s Art Briles, Oklahoma’s Bob Stoops, Oklahoma State’s Mike Gundy and TCU’s Gary Patterson have been named to the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Watch List after strong starts to the 2015 campaign including a combined 21-1 record this season.

The head coaches on the watch list represent programs with the highest ideals of leadership, scholarship and integrity on and off the field – the three pillars of legendary coach Bobby Dodd’s philosophy.

Each of the coaches sits at the helm of programs with winning records, superior Academic Progress Rate (APR) scores and graduation rates, and a strong commitment to service within their communities.

Stoops and Patterson have both won the award previously, with Stoops' win coming in 2003 and Patterson’s in 2009. The four Big 12 coaches on the watch list tie with the SEC and Pac-12 for the most by any one conference.

A voting panel of all previous winners, plus a committee made up of national media pundits, a member of the Dodd family and two College Football Hall of Fame members will determine the 2015 recipient. The winner of The Dodd Trophy will be announced in Atlanta during Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl week.

< Football
Popular on
Load More