Print RSS
Three Coaches Named to ‘Bear’ Bryant Watch List
October 21, 2015

Baylor’s Art Briles, Oklahoma State’s Mike Gundy and TCU’s Gary Patterson have been named to the Paul ‘Bear’ Bryant Coach of the Year Award Watch List after impressive starts to the 2015 campaign, including a combined 19-0 record.

Coach Bryant was a leader, both on and off the field. He possessed the ability to inspire, the patience to teach, and the gift of leadership. The Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year Award salutes those coaches who have reached that same high standard of excellence.

Gundy and Patterson have both won the award once, with Gundy’s win coming in 2011 and Patterson’s last year in 2014. Wins by Bill Snyder in 1998, Bob Stoops in 2000 and Mack Brown in 2005 give the Big 12 five total winners of the Bryant Coach of the Year Award.

In December, five to 10 finalists for the honor will be announced. Finalists will attend an awards banquet January 13, 2016, at the Hilton Americas Houston, where the winner will be announced live. The Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year Award is the only college coaching honor determined after all bowl games are concluded and is voted on by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association.

The 30th annual American Heart Association Paul “Bear” Bryant Awards presented by Marathon Oil Corporation seek to recognize excellence in college football coaching while raising funds to fight heart disease and stroke.

< Football
Popular on
Load More