Print RSS
Cowgirls’ Record Performance Earns Women’s Golf Crown
April 24, 2016

San Antonio, Texas - The Oklahoma State Cowgirls were on a mission from hole number one on Sunday at the Dominion Country Club in San Antonio, Texas, shooting a six-under par 282 en route to their ninth Big 12 conference title, and an overall score of eight-under par (856) for the tournament.

The -8 (856) is a new Big 12 Championship record by five strokes and the final round -6 ties the championship record at the Dominion. The Cowgirls took the crown by 11 shots over Texas (+3) after entering the final round at two-under par, four shots up on Iowa State.

Back-to-back individual champion Kenzie Neisen led the charge for OSU, firing off a final round six-under par 66 on her way to a Big 12 Championship record 207 (-9) on the weekend. Additionally, the 66 ties the Big 12 Championship record for a low round (lowest at The Dominion), and Neisen, a sophomore, becomes just the second female golfer to ever repeat as Big 12 Champion (Annie Thurman-Young, OSU, 2004-05).

OSU’s Emma Broze (-1, 215), Linnea Johansson (E, 216), Chih-Min Chen (+3, 219) and Maddie McCrary (+7, 223) also contributed to the win for the Cowgirls, with Broze and Johansson earning All-Tournament honors.

UT’s second place 867 was trailed by TCU at 873 (+9) for third. Iowa State (874, +10) and Oklahoma (876, +12) rounded out the top five. Baylor (885, +21), Kansas (887, +23), Kansas State (888, +24) and Texas Tech (889, +25) finished sixth through ninth respectively.

Individually, Texas’ Sophia Schubert and Oklahoma’s Ana Ruiz tied for second place at -3, and K-State’s Madison Talley finished fourth at -2. Four golfers tied in fifth place at -1 and three more finished at even par to round out the All-Tournament Team, which was earned by finishing in the top 10 of the tournament.

Teams await their postseason fate tomorrow, April 25 at 5 p.m. CT, when the NCAA Selection show will be hosted live on the Golf Channel. Qualifying teams will then travel to either Sanford, Calif., Baton Rouge, La., Bryan, Texas or Shoal Creek, Ala. for regional play May 5-7.

The top six teams from each regional site will advance to the NCAA Championship in Eugene, Ore., which will take place from May 20-25 at the Eugene Country Club.

All-Tournament Team
1.            Kenzie Neisen, OSU - 207 (-9)
2.            Sophia Schubert, UT - 213 (-3)
               Ana Ruiz, OU - 213 (-3)
2.            Sophia Schubert, UT - 213 (-3)
               Ana Ruiz, OU - 213 (-3)
4.            Madison Talley, K-State - 214 (-2)
5.            Yupaporn Kawinpakorn, KU - 215 (-1)
               Emma Broze, OSU - 215 (-1)
               Julia Beck, UT - 215 (-1)
               Sabina Pena, TCU - 215 (-1)
 9.           Brooke Graebe, TCU - 216 (E)
               Linnea Johansson, OSU - 216 (E)
               Cajsa Persson, ISU - 216 (E)


< Golf
Popular on
Load More