Print RSS
Mountaineers Win Big 12 Soccer Title
November 06, 2016

Kansas City, Mo. - For the third time since joining the Big 12, West Virginia has won the postseason soccer championship. The No. 1 seed Mountaineers topped a tough TCU squad, 3-2 in overtime, at Swope Soccer Village in Kansas City.

The game-winner was scored by senior Ashley Lawrence just over six minutes into the first extra session. She pushed the ball in at the goal line after a cross from the left side. Sophomore Hannah Abraham recorded the assist.

This is the third postseason crown since the Mountaineers after they won the title in 2013 and 2014. West Virginia boasts an 11-2-1 all-time record at the event. With the victory, WVU earns the conference's automatic bid to the NCAA Women's Soccer Championship.

TCU got on the board quickly, scoring the first goal the Mountaineers have allowed to a Big 12 opponent this season less than four minutes into the match. Senior forward Michelle Prokof did the damage, lacing a shot into the upper left corner of the net. The tally ended a West Virginia streak of 938:17 consecutive shutout minutes and was the first goal allowed by the team since September 23.

The Horned Frogs made it 2-0 with just 5:34 left in the first half when junior Allison Ganter sprinted past the Mountaineer defense for her team-leading ninth score of the season. It marked the first time that any team has scored multiple goals versus WVU in 2016.

West Virginia cut the lead in half in the 59th minute, when junior Michaela Abam scored on an assist from sophomore forward Sh'Nia Gordon. It was Abam's team-high ninth goal of the 2016 campaign. The Mountaineers evened the game up with just 1:42 remaining in regulation as senior defender Kadeisha Buchanan converted following assists from Abam and senior Ashley Lawrence.

This year's title game marked the first time since 2010 that the championship match was extended into overtime. It was the third overtime contest of 2016 for WVU and the seventh extra-session outing for the Horned Frogs. The seven overtime games this year are the most of any team in the Big 12 Conference.

The entire 64-team NCAA Championship field will be announced on Monday, November 7 at 3:30 pm CT with the selection show broadcast live at

Big 12 Championship - Offensive Most Outstanding Player
Ashley Lawrence, West Virginia, MF

Big 12 Championship - Defensive Most Outstanding Player
Kadeisha Buchanan, West Virginia, D

Big 12 Championship - All-Tournament Team
Amanda Hoglund, Baylor, F
Liz Keester, Oklahoma, F
Meghan Murphy, TCU, D
Michelle Prokof, TCU, F
Allison Ganter, TCU, F
Karitas Tomasdottir, TCU, MF
Michaela Abam, West Virginia, F
Ashley Lawrence, West Virginia, MF
Amandine Pierre-Louis, West Virginia, D
Kadeisha Buchanan, West Virginia, D
Sh'Nia Gordon, West Virginia, F

< Soccer
Popular on
Load More