Print RSS
Autonomy Conference University and Student-Athlete Reps to Meet
January 19, 2017

Eighty voting members of the ACC, Big 12, Big Ten, Pac-12 and SEC will meet in Nashville, Tenn., Friday, Jan. 20, to consider a series of proposals as part of the Autonomy governance process that gives the five conferences the ability to enact NCAA rule changes in specific legislative areas.

Many of the proposals under consideration were submitted this past fall concerning how much time student-athletes dedicate to playing sports.

The meeting will include representatives from each of the 65 member schools of the ACC, Big 12, Big Ten, Pac-12 and SEC conferences and 15 student-athlete representatives, each of whom has a full vote and has been included in the ongoing discussions at the conference level.

In the previous two autonomy sessions in 2015 and 2016, the representatives have enacted reforms in the areas of four-year scholarships, cost of attendance, concussion and student-athlete welfare, among others.

About the Autonomy Session
The autonomy proposals will be reviewed during a Discussion Forum on Friday beginning at 8 a.m. CT, followed immediately by voting during the Autonomy Business Session. Proposals can be approved by one of the following methods:

  • 60 percent of all votes (48 votes) and a simple majority support from schools in three of the five conferences, or;
  • A majority of all votes (at least 41) and simple majority support from the schools in four of the five conferences.

In addition to representatives from the 65 universities, 15 student-athletes will give a voice for the tens of thousands of current student-athletes in the five conferences.  The student-athletes in the autonomy process include:

Name Institution Sport
Wilson Bell Florida State Football
Brady Bramlett Ole Miss Baseball
Ty Darlington Oklahoma Football
Ben-Marvin Egel Purdue Golf
Brandon Fiala Virginia Tech Swimming & Diving
Colby Gilbert Washington Cross Country
Madison Granger Duke Cross Country
Chris Hawthorne Minnesota Football
Anthony Lyons Jr Texas Tech Baseball
Antoine Marc Texas A&M Swimming & Diving
Nandi Mehta Northwestern Soccer
Dom Randle USC Soccer
Madison Stein Kansas Softball
Jaron Thomas Colorado Track & Field
Marqu’es Webb Vanderbilt Basketball
< Conference
Popular on
Load More