Print RSS
Indoor Track & Field Starts Off Strong
February 24, 2017


Ames, Iowa - An action packed first day of the Big 12 Indoor Track and Field Championship came to a close with the Baylor women and Kansas men out in front of the field. An all-around solid effort that included the first pole vault championship in school history for the Bears, while a first, second and third in the men’s pole vault highlighted the Jayhawks’ first-place effort.

The Kansas men (54.4 points) hold a commanding lead over Oklahoma State (27 points) and Texas (24 points), while Baylor’s 38 points are two better than Kansas State on the women’s side.

In the women’s pentathlon that opened the day, Texas Tech’s Kaylee Hinton took the top spot marking the second straight conference championship for the Red Raiders. Hinton took the crown with 4,010 total points after improving on her personal record by over four seconds in the 800m. Jenna Pfeiffer (Baylor) and Makayla Stephens (Oklahoma) came in behind her with 3,958 and 3,780 points respectively.

After day one of the men’s heptathlon, Texas holds the top three spots including 2015 champion Wolf Mahler, who currently sits in third place. Steele Wasik leads the way with 2,423 points closely trailed by teammate George Patrick (2,391 points).

In the women’s field events, Baylor’s Annie Rhodes took first in the pole vault and marked BU’s first conference title in the event. Iowa State’s Jhoanmy Luque set an new personal record and now sits No. 2 in Cyclone history while finishing first in the long jump with a 6.53m leap. Additionally, K-State’s Janee’ Kassanavoid won the weight throw by more than a meter with a toss of 21.32m over teammate Helene Ingvaldsen.

Charles Brown of Texas Tech took home the first men’s field championship, winning the long jump with a leap of 7.89 meters. Kansas claimed the top three spots in pole vault led by Paulo Benavides, who posted a winning clearance of 5.47m (17-11.25). The weight throw was also captured by a Jayhawk as Gleb Dudarev claimed the title after a 22.02 m throw.

On the track, TCU’s Brenley Goertzen raced to the 5,000m title in 16:02.80, running past the rest of the competition by nearly 13 seconds. On the men’s side it took all 5,000 meters, but Oklahoma’s Dylan Blankenbaker got the win on a last lean at the finish line to take the title in 14:22.27.

The prelims of the men’s 60-meter dash set up what should be one of more highly contested finals of Saturday’s competition with eight athletes running their heats with in a tenth of second of each other. Texas’ Senoj-Jay Givans led the way with a Big 12 season best 6.64.

Day one concluded on a high note as Oklahoma State swept the distance-medley relays. The Cowgirls ran to their third straight DMR victory, while the men earn their second championship in three years. OSU’s women grabbed the title in 11:19.02 and the men won in 9:44.99.

The second day of Championship action begins tomorrow with the men’s heptathlon 60m hurdles at 11 a.m. CT and concludes with the awards ceremony at approximately 6 p.m. CT. Stay tuned in live with FloTrack all day and keep up with live results and coverage on

Women’s Team Scores

1 Baylor 38
2 Kansas State 36
3 Oklahoma 32
4 Kansas 28
5 Iowa State 26
6 Texas Tech 19
7 TCU 17
8 Oklahoma State 15
9 Texas 14
10 West Virginia 9

Men’s Team Scores

1 Kansas 54.5
2 Oklahoma State 27
3 Oklahoma 24
4 Kansas State 21.5
4 Texas Tech 21.5
6 Texas 20.5
7 Iowa State 20
8 TCU 4
9 Baylor 2

< Track
Popular on
Load More