Print RSS
Texas Crowned Women's Golf Champion
April 23, 2017

The Texas Longhorns fought their way to the top of the pack from fourth place on Day One to earn the title of the 2017 Big 12 Women’s Golf Championship. The Longhorns clinched the victory with a three round score of 885 (+21), good for seven strokes ahead of second place.

Texas notched a 294 (+6) performance on the final day for the win to mark the fourth Big 12 title for the Longhorns and the first since 2011.

The individual crown was awarded to Baylor’s Dylan Kim. Kim’s four-under par performance in round three earned her the victory in 214 strokes (-2).

Iowa State, a No. 7 seed entering the championship, was the runner-up, marking the program’s best finish in history. The team surged in the final 18 holes, topped off by an eagle by Celia Barquin on the 18th hole.

Placing third was Texas Tech, which carded 894 (+30) followed by Oklahoma State with 897 (+33) in fourth and Baylor with 900 (+36) in fifth. Trailing the Bears by one stroke in sixth was TCU tallying a score of 901 (+37), then seventh place Kansas with 904 (+40) and Kansas State in eighth earning a 907 (+43) mark. Oklahoma rounded out the standings at 908 (+44).

The Big 12 All-Tournament Team was announced at the conclusion of the third round. The team consists of the top 10 individual finishers following 54 holes.

UT will earn the Big 12’s automatic bid to the NCAA Regionals taking place May 8-10. The remaining eight teams will await their postseason fate Thursday, April 27 at 11 a.m. CT on the Golf Channel.

Big 12 All-Tournament Team
1. Dylan Kim, Baylor
2. Emilee Hoffman, Texas
3. Chayanit Wangmahaporn, Iowa State
Kenzie Neisen, Oklahoma State
5. Fiona Liddell, Baylor
Sophia Schubert, Texas
7. Annika Clark, TCU
Sofia Garcia, Texas Tech
9. Valerie Tanguay, Oklahoma
Celia Barquin, Iowa State
Yitsen Chou, Kansas

< Golf
Popular on
Load More