Print RSS
Four Big 12 QBs Semifinalists for O'Brien Award
November 07, 2017

Four Big 12 quarterbacks were announced as semifinalists for the 2017 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, as announced by the organization on Tuesday.

Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma State’s Mason Rudolph, TCU’s Kenny Hill and West Virginia’s Will Grier were among the 16 semifinalists. The Big 12 is tied with the Pac-12 to lead the nation with four representatives each. OU’s Mayfield was a finalist for the award in 2015 and 2016, while OSU’s Rudolph is a semifinalist for a second consecutive season.

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the best college quarterback, and is the nation's oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award.

The Davey O'Brien Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Foundation's national selection committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners.

After clearing the first round totals, the Fan Vote at will reopen today (Nov. 7) and remain open until noon (CT) on Sunday, Nov. 19, for the second round of balloting. Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation's best college quarterback as often as once daily per email address.

In conjunction with ESPN, the Davey O'Brien Foundation and the Selection Committee will release the names of the three finalists on Monday, Nov. 20. The 2017 Davey O'Brien winner will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards Thursday, Dec. 7.

< Football
Popular on
Load More