Print RSS
Oklahoma's Andrews Named Mackey Award Semifinalist
November 14, 2017

Oklahoma’s Mark Andrews was named a semifinalist for the 2017 John Mackey Award, as announced by the Friends of John Mackey.

Andrews, a redshirt junior from Scottsdale, Arizona, has 43 receptions for 745 yards and four touchdowns in 10 games for the Sooners this season.

Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2017 Mackey Award recipient will be announced on December 6, 2017 and then presented live on December 7, 2017, at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, recognizes fourteen alumni that have played in the NFL: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark ('02), Kellen Winslow II ('03), two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04), Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06), Fred Davis ('07), Chase Coffman ('08), D.J. Williams ('10),  Dwayne Allen ('11) of the New England Patriots, Tyler Eifert ('12)  of the Cincinnati Bengals, Austin Seferian-Jenkins ('13) of the New York Jets, Nick O'Leary ('14) of the Buffalo Bills, Hunter Henry of the Los Angeles Chargers and 2016 John Mackey Award recipient Jake Butt of the Denver Broncos. 

< Football
Popular on
Load More