Print RSS
Big 12 Cross Country Awards
November 21, 2017

Irving, Texas - The Big 12 has announced its 2017 Cross Country postseason honors, as selected by the league’s head coaches following the NCAA Championship.

Sharon Lokedi of Kansas takes home her second Women’s Runner of the Year award thanks to her victory at the Big 12 Championship. The junior from Kenya is the fourth female in Big 12 history to repeat as individual champion. She earned All-Midwest Region honors with a runner-up finish at the NCAA Midwest Regional.

Iowa State’s Andrew Jordan is the Men’s Runner of the Year after leading the way in the Cyclone’s best NCAA Championship performance since 1994. Jordan became the program’s 38th All-American with his 15th-place finish in Louisville. He also earned All-Big 12 honors with a fourth-place finish at the Big 12 Championship.

Newcomer honors went to Sam Worley of Texas and Cailie Logue of Iowa State. Worley made an immediate impact for the Longhorns, finishing in the top three in his first collegiate race. He was Texas’ top performer at the Big 12 Championship, finishing third. Logue was a breakout star for the Cyclones, winning her first collegiate race. The freshman finished in the top-four in both the Big 12 Championship and Midwest Regional.

Iowa State also takes home both Coach of the Year trophies, as men’s head coach Martin Smith and women’s head coach Andrea Grove-McDonough led their programs to a Cyclone sweep of both the Big 12 Championship and Midwest Regional. This is Smith’s first time to win the award, while Grove-McDonough has earned it in four of the past five years.


2017 Big 12 Runner of the Year
MEN: Andrew Jordan, Iowa State
WOMEN: Sharon Lokedi, Kansas

2017 Big 12 Newcomer of the Year
MEN: Sam Worley, Texas
WOMEN: Cailie Logue, Iowa State

2017 Big 12 Cross Country Coach of the Year
MEN: Martin Smith, Iowa State
WOMEN: Andrea Grove-McDonough, Iowa State

< Cross Country
Popular on
Load More