Print RSS
Trio of Big 12 Players Selected to Wade Watch List
November 29, 2017

Three Big 12 players were tabbed to the “Wade Watch” list for the 2018 Wade Trophy, the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced today.

Baylor’s Kalani Brown, Texas’ Brooke McCarty and West Virginia’s Tynice Martin were three of the 25 players selected by the WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America Selection Committee.

The Wade Trophy — now in its 41st year — is the oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award in college women’s basketball. It is named in honor of the late, legendary Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, who won three consecutive national championships with the Lady Statesmen. First awarded in 1978 by the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD), now known as SHAPE America, the Wade Trophy has been presented to the WBCA NCAA Division I National Player of the Year since 2001.

The committee will review the list in January to determine if additional players will be added based on their play during the first half of the 2017-18 season.

The WBCA will announce the four finalists for the honor in mid-March. The winner of the 2018 Wade Trophy will be announced during ESPN2’s telecast of the 2018 NCAA® Women’s Final Four® national semifinal games on March 30.

< Women's Basketball
Popular on
Load More