Print RSS
All-Big 12 Football Honors Announced
November 30, 2017

All-Big 12 Honors Notebook:

Baker Mayfield garnered his second Offensive Player of the Year Award in three years, Oklahoma’s seventh overall and third consecutive. Other OU winners include wide receiver Dede Westbrook (2016) and quarterbacks Mayfield (2015), Sam Bradford (2008), Jason White (2003 and 2004) and Josh Heupel (2000).

Ogbonnia Okoronkwo is the fifth player from Oklahoma to earn Defensive Player of the Year, along with defensive end Frank Alexander (2011), linebackers Rufus Alexander (2006) and Teddy Lehman (2003), and defensive back Roy Williams (2001). Malik Jefferson is the fifth player from his school to earn the honor. Previous Longhorn winners include defensive end Jackson Jeffcoat (2013), linebacker Derrick Johnson (2004), and defensive linemen Brian Orakpo (2008) and Casey Hampton (200).

Will Grier is West Virginia’s second consecutive Offensive Newcomer of the Year, and third overall. Mountaineer running backs Justin Crawford (2016) and Charles Sims (2013) were honored previously. Grier is the eighth quarterback to win the award.

Ben Banogu is the first TCU player named as Defensive Newcomer of the Year.

Charlie Brewer is the first Baylor player selected Offensive Freshman of the Year since Robert Griffin in 2008. Jalen Reagor is the first TCU player to earn the honor.

Ross Blacklock is the second TCU player to be named Defensive Freshman of the Year, along with Devonte Fields in 2012. Kenneth Murray is the fifth Oklahoma player to earn the honor. Previous Sooner winners include defensive back Tony Jefferson (2010), linebacker Travis Lewis (2008), and defensive linemen Gerald McCoy (2007) and Tommie Harris (2001).

Michael Dickson takes home his second Special Teams Player of the Year. Dickson became the first Longhorn to earn the honor last season. The award was first presented in 2005. He is the fourth player who handles punting duties to win the honor.

Orlando Brown wins his second consecutive Offensive Lineman of the Year. He is the second Sooner to win the award, with Jon Cooper (2008).

Poona Ford was named Defensive Lineman of the Year joining previous Texas selection Brian Orakpo (2008).

Matt Campbell (Iowa State) was recognized as Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year for the first time. He is the second Cyclone coach to earn the award (Dan McCarney- 2004).

Oklahoma has won the most individual awards in the 21-year history of the Big 12 with 39. K-State is second (32), followed by Texas (29), Oklahoma State (19), Baylor (14), Iowa State (12), TCU (8), Texas Tech (8), Kansas (7), and West Virginia (5).

< Football
Popular on
Load More