Print RSS
Andrews Presented John Mackey Award
December 06, 2017

The Friends of John Mackey have announced Mark Andrews of Oklahoma as the 2017 John Mackey Award recipient. The John Mackey Award trophy will be presented to Andrews on December 7th, live on ESPNU, at 6:00 pm EST on The Red Carpet Special at The Home Depot College Football Awards.

In his three years, Andrews has been "a rock" for the University of Oklahoma. Andrews is an outstanding leader and gifted student athlete. He has starred as an outstanding receiver who is more than capable in protection and is also an effective run blocker. Andrews becomes the 18th player to win the John Mackey Award and the first player from OU to hold this accomplishment. He is the third recipient from the Big 12. 

A unanimous 2017 All-Big 12 First Team honoree and 2017 Midseason All American by USA Today, Andrews currently leads the nation's tight ends with his 906 receiving yards.  His outstanding season statistics include 56 receptions for 906 yards and eight touchdowns. He is also Oklahoma's all-time leader for receiving yards by a tight end with 1,713. Of his 108 career catches, 22 (20.4%) have gone for a touchdown. In his career with Oklahoma, he has amassed 108 receptions for 1,713 yards and 22 touchdowns. Andrews will be leading his team to the 2017 Rose Bowl Game presented by Northwestern Mutual - CFP Semifinal on January 1st against Georgia, live on ESPN.

The John Mackey Award is given to the collegiate tight end who best exemplifies the play, sportsmanship, academics, and community values of NFL Hall of Fame tight end John Mackey. The 2017 John Mackey Award recipient was determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Selection Committee.  

< Football
Popular on
Load More