Print RSS
Two Big 12 Players named Rose Award Finalists
December 07, 2017

Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield and Oklahoma State’s James Washington have been named finalists for the 2017 Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, recognizing the top offensive player in Division I football.

Mayfield, who is also a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, leads the nation in completion percentage, passing efficiency rating, and yards per completion. The senior quarterback from Austin, Texas, has thrown 41 touchdowns to just five interceptions.

Washington will go down as one of the best and most productive receivers in Oklahoma State history. The Stamford, Texas-native was a unanimous first-team All-Big 12 selection, and needs 68 yards to pass Rashaun Woods for the Oklahoma State school record and to move into second on the all-time Big 12 list.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award is given annually to the top offensive player in Division I football. The nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas high school, and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four year Division I Texas college. Previous winners from the Big 12 Conference include TCU’s Trevone Boykin and Texas’ D’Onta Foreman.

< Football
Popular on
Load More