Print RSS
Mayfield Named Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Winner
January 11, 2018

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield was named winner of the 2017 Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, which recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football. Mayfield led the nation in completion percentage and passing efficiency rating, while also finishing second in passing touchdowns and passing yards.


Mayfield, a senior from Austin, Texas, finishes his career as one of the most decorated student-athletes in Big 12 history winning the Heisman Trophy, Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, Maxwell Award, and Davey O’Brien Award. He is also a unanimous first team All-American.


Nominees for the Tyler Rose Award must meet one of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas high school and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four year Division I Texas college. Oklahoma State wide receiver James Washington – a Stamford, Texas native – was also a finalist for the award.

< Football
Popular on
Load More