Print RSS
Pair of Big 12 Players Added to Wade Trophy Watch List
February 08, 2018

Texas’ Ariel Atkins and Oklahoma State’s Loryn Goodwin were added to the Wade Trophy Mid-Season Watch List.

Atkins and Goodwin join Baylor’s Kalani Brown and West Virginia’s Tynice Martin who were on the initial list announced last fall.

The Wade Trophy — now in its 41st year — is the oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award in college women’s basketball. It is named in honor of the late, legendary Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, who won three consecutive national championships with the Lady Statesmen. First awarded in 1978 by the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD), now known as SHAPE America, the Wade Trophy has been presented to the WBCA NCAA Division I National Player of the Year since 2001.

The WBCA will announce the four finalists for the honor in mid-March. The winner of the 2018 Wade Trophy will be announced during ESPN2’s telecast of the 2018 NCAA® Women’s Final Four® national semifinal games on March 30.

2018 Wade Trophy Mid-Season Watch List
Ariel Atkins, Texas
Kalani Brown, Baylor
Loryn Goodwin, Oklahoma State
Tynice Martin, West Virginia
Brooke McCarty, Texas


< Women's Basketball
Popular on
Load More