Print RSS
51 Honored on 2018 Academic All-Big 12 Women's Basketball Team
February 15, 2018

Irving, Texas - Fifty-one student-athletes have been named to the 2018 Academic All-Big 12 Women’s Basketball Team.

Thirty-five selections make up the first team with 16 honorees on the second team.

Among those nominated, Shaelyn Martin (Kansas State), Gabbi Ortiz (Oklahoma), Jentry Holt (Oklahoma State) and Brittany Brewer (Texas Tech) represent with 4.00 grade point averages.

The 2018 team features 11 student-athletes with Academic All-Big 12 selections three or more times: Ariel Atkins (Texas), Kaylee Jensen (Oklahoma State), Maddie Manning (Oklahoma), Shaelyn Martin (K-State), Brooke McCarty (Texas), Gabbi Ortiz (Oklahoma), Kaylee Page (K-State), Vionise Pierre-Louis (Oklahoma), McKenna Treece (Oklahoma), Kristy Wallace (Baylor) and LaNesia Williams (Oklahoma).

Oklahoma paced league teams with seven honorees, while Oklahoma State, Texas and West Virginia followed with six selections each.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA. To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 20 percent of their team’s scheduled contests.

Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

< Women's Basketball
Popular on
Load More