Print RSS
Seven Big 12 WBB Teams Advance to Postseason
March 12, 2018

Seven Big 12 women’s basketball teams were selected to compete in postseason play with four in the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship and three in the WNIT.

This is the ninth consecutive year in which at least 70 percent of Big 12 teams have extended their season.

Top-seeded Baylor earned the Conference’s automatic bid into the NCAA field after winning the Phillips 66 Big 12 Women’s Basketball Championship. The Lady Bears, who also won their eighth-consecutive regular season title, are making their fifth appearance as a No. 2 seed in the NCAA Tournament.  

Joining Baylor in the NCAA Championship are No. 2 seed Texas, No. 9 seed Oklahoma State and No. 12 seed Oklahoma. The Lady Bears and the Longhorns will host first and second round games.

TCU is the Big 12’s automatic qualifier in the WNIT, while K-State and West Virginia will also participate in the tournament. 

Including this year’s selections, the Big 12 has 132 appearances in the NCAA Championship and 44 in the WNIT for a total of 176 postseason bids since inception in 1996-97.

Big 12 NCAA Championship First Round Matchups

Friday, March 16
No. 12 Oklahoma vs. No. 5 DePaul in College Station, Texas (ESPN2) ,11:00 a.m. CT
No. 15 Grambling at No. 2 Baylor* in Waco, Texas (ESPN2), 6:30 p.m. CT

Saturday, March 17
No. 9 Oklahoma State 
vs. No. 8 Syracuse in Starkville, Miss. (ESPN2), 2:30 p.m. CT
No. 15 Maine at No. 2 Texas in Austin, Texas (ESPN2), 5:00 p.m. CT

Big 12 WNIT Qualifiers

Thursday, March 15
Bucknell at West Virginia in Morgantown, W.Va., 6:00 p.m. CT
Lamar at TCU in Fort Worth, Texas, 6:30 p.m. CT 
Saint Louis at K-State in Manhattan, Kan., 7:00 p.m. CT

* - Automatic Qualifier

< Women's Basketball
Popular on
Load More