Print RSS
Haas, Adams Headline 2017-18 Swimming and Diving Accolades
April 05, 2018

The Big 12 announced the recipients of the 2017-18 Big 12 Swimming and Diving “of the year” awards, voted on by league coaches. Performances throughout the 2017-18 regular and postseason are placed under consideration when determining the honorees.
For the second time in Big 12 history and first time since 2003, Texas swept the postseason awards.

Townley Haas became the first junior since 2011 to be named Big 12 Men’s Swimmer of the Year. The Longhorn added three NCAA gold medals to his resume, including a first place finish in the 200 Freestyle where he reclaimed the NCAA, American and U.S. Open record with a time of 1:29.50.

Women’s Swimmer of the Year Claire Adams helped all five Texas relays to All-America finishes at the NCAA Championships, where she added All-America honors in the 100 backstroke. Adams was one of two Big 12 swimmers to post multiple individual All-America finishes after placing seventh in the 100 backstroke, where she was less than one second off from the Big 12 record (51.38) and 12th in the 100 Freestyle (47.88).

Men’s Diver of the Year Jordan Windle and Women’s Diver of the Year Murphy Bromberg tallied runner-up status on the NCAA Championships platform event. At the Big 12 Championship in February, both divers earned first place finishes on platform, including a 579.60 mark by Windle, which made NCAA history as the highest platform score ever recorded. The men’s diving freshman produced All-America finishes in all three diving events.

Austin Katz was named Newcomer of the Year after becoming the only freshman to win an individual swimming or diving event at the NCAA Championships. Katz won the 200 backstroke, the first Longhorn to accomplish the feat since 2004. Women’s Newcomer of the Year Evie Pfeifer was the Big 12 Championship Women’s Swimmer of the Meet after being the only swimmer to score in three individual events. At the NCAA Championships, Pfeifer earned All-America honors in 500 Freestyle and two honorable mention All-America nods.

Coach Eddie Reese recorded his 14th NCAA Championships victory and his fourth consecutive national title while Carol Capitani led the texas women to a sixth place finish at the NCAA Championships. Matt Scoggin swept the diving coach of the year awards for both the men’s and women’s programs for the third straight season.

Men’s Swimmer of the Year: Townley Haas, Texas, Jr.

Women’s Swimmer of the Year: Claire Adams, Texas, So.

Men’s Diver of the Year: Jordan Windle, Texas, Fr.

Women’s Diver of the Year: Murphy Bromberg, Texas Jr.

Men’s Newcomer of the Year: Austin Katz, Texas

Women’s Newcomers of the Year: Evie Pfeifer, Texas

Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year: Eddie Reese, Texas

Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year: Carol Capitani, Texas

Men’s Diving Coach of the Year: Matt Scoggin, Texas

Women’s Diving Coach of the Year: Matt Scoggin, Texas

< Swimming & Diving
Popular on
Load More