Print RSS
Big 12 Tennis Headed to NCAA's
May 01, 2018

For the third straight year, all six Big 12 men’s tennis programs and six women’s squads earned bids for the 2018 NCAA Tennis Championship, set to begin on May 11.

On the men’s side, three teams were seeded among the top-14. The Texas Longhorns, 2018 Big 12 Men’s Tennis Postseason Champions earned the No. 11 seed and will face Bryant in the first round. Big 12 Regular Season Champion TCU earned the 9 seed and will take on Utah State, while Oklahoma received the No. 14 overall spot for the opportunity to play Utah.

Baylor, Oklahoma State and Texas Tech also earned postseason berths.

Texas, TCU and Oklahoma will serve as host sites during Regionals. The Baylor men will head to College Station, Texas, where they will open against Arizona State. Oklahoma State will head to Los Angeles, Califiornia, as OSU is slated to face Harvard. The Red Raiders will also travel to California where they will square off against San Diego.

On the women’s side, three programs will host first/second rounds. The OSU Cowgirls were selected as the No. 8 seed and will host UMKC in Stillwater, meanwhile Texas Tech received the No. 11 seed and will take on Army West Point in Lubbock. Additionally, the Big 12 postseason champions Texas will host McNeese during the first round in Austin.

Baylor was selected to the Los Angeles Regional, where they will take on NC State while Kansas will go to Malibu, California, to play Denver. K-State rounds out the Big 12 women’s bids with a trip to Evanston, Ill. to battle Kentucky.

First and second round competition will take place May 11-12, with four teams playing a single-elimination format at each host site. The winner of each site will advance to the Wake Forest Tennis Complex in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, where the 16 remaining teams will compete for the national championship May 17-22.

< Tennis
Popular on
Load More