Print RSS
Individuals Tabbed for NCAA Postseason
May 02, 2018

The NCAA selections for the 2018 NCAA Division I Tennis Singles and Doubles Championships included 14 Big 12 nods from six institutions.

Baylor, Kansas, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, TCU and Texas each produced student-athletes with individual postseason berths.

For the men’s singles, 2018 Big 12 Championship Most Outstanding Player Yuya Ito (Texas) was selected for his second straight NCAA appearance. TCU’s Alex Rybakov, who earned the Big 12’s automatic bid, will also be joined by Alex Bakshi (OU).

Oklahoma’s Ferran Calvo was named an alternate for the men’s singles bracket.

Baylor men’s tennis duo Will Little and Johannes Schretter were selected to the doubles championship in Winston-Salem along with Rodrigo Banzer/Leonardo Telles of Texas and the top-8 seeded Guillermo Nunez/Alex Rybakov of TCU.

Texas’ Bianca Turati earned the No. 1 overall singles seed while sister and teammate Anna Turati also will represent the Longhorns on the singles side. Oklahoma State also notched two singles at-large bids: Vladica Babic and Megan McCray. Kansas will send one to the singles field as Anastasia Rychagova earned the No. 8 overall seed. The Sooners recorded one individual selection in Lily Miyazaki.

Babic will team up with Sofia Blanco to represent the Cowgirls in doubles competition while KU’s Rychagova will pair with Nina Khmelnitckaia.

The 2018 NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s Tennis Singles and Doubles Championships will be held May 23-28 at the Wake Forest Tennis Complex in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

< Tennis
Popular on
Load More