Print RSS
2018 Softball All-Big 12 Awards Announced
May 09, 2018

No. 3/3 ranked Oklahoma and RV/No. 24 Oklahoma State headline the 2018 Big 12 softball postseason awards. Vanessa Shippy (OSU) was named Big 12 Player of the Year, Paige Parker (OU) earned Pitcher of the Year, while Kelsey Arnold (OU) produced Defensive Player of the Year status and Jocelyn Alo (OU) was recognized as Freshman of the Year.

Player of the Year Shippy ranks among the top-5 nationally in three statistical categories: walks per game (No. 2, .98), on-base percentage (No. 3, .613) and runs per game (1.18). In 2016, the Cowgirl earned Co-Player of the Year honors with Erin Miller (OU).

Parker became just the second pitcher in league history to be recognized as Pitcher of the Year four times, joining Cat Osterman (Texas, 2002-03, ‘05-06). Parker ranks fourth in the nation with a 0.85 ERA in addition to notching a Big 12-best
24 victories and .142 opponent batting average.

Arnold notches her second career Defensive Player of the Year honor after earning it in 2016. During the 2018 season, the Sooner registered a .992 fielding percentage.

Freshman of the Year Alo owns the nation’s best mark with 0.46 home runs per game. The newcomer also ranks fourth nationally in slugging percentage (.946) while averaging a Big 12-leading 2.70 total bases per game.

Led by Gasso, Oklahoma became the second team in Big 12 history to produce an undefeated record conference record at 18-0. This marks Gasso’s seventh consecutive Big 12 regular season title, along with her seventh straight Coach of the Year award.

Twelve student-athletes make up the All-Big 12 First and Second Team while 10 selections are made to the All-Big 12 Freshman Team, regardless of position. Honors are voted on by head coaches.

< Softball
Popular on
Load More