Print RSS
Sooners Take Big 12 Softball Crown
May 12, 2018

No. 1 seeded Oklahoma earned the 2018 Phillips 66 Big 12 Softball Championship crown with its 6-4 victory over No 3 Baylor. With the win, OU claimed its second consecutive and sixth overall postseason title.

The Sooners, who went undefeated during Big 12 regular season play, moved to 50-3 on the year. Nicole Pendley (OU) was named Most Outstanding Player of the championship after she recorded an OU-leading five RBI, two hits and a run to secure the win. Paige Lowary earned a complete game victory in the circle.

This marked Baylor’s first championship game appearance in program history.

Earlier in the day, No. 2 Oklahoma State notched the win over No. 6 Iowa State with a 5-1 decision while No. 4 Texas took down No. 5 Texas Tech, 9-2.

On tap is the 2018 NCAA Softball Selection Show, which will begin Sunday, May 13 at 9 p.m. CT on ESPN2.

All-Tournament Team
Maddison Kettler, Baylor
Gia Rodoni, Baylor
Kyla Walker, Baylor
Jocelyn Alo, Oklahoma
Fale Aviu, Oklahoma
Shay Knighten, Oklahoma
Paige Lowary, Oklahoma
Paige Parker, Oklahoma
Nicole Pendley, Oklahoma
Sydney Romero, Oklahoma
Vanessa Shippy, Oklahoma State
Brooke Bolinger, Texas
KiAudra Hayter, Texas
Michaela Cochran, Texas Tech
Erin Edmoundson, Texas Tech

Most Outstanding Player: Nicole Pendley, Oklahoma

< Softball
Popular on
Load More