Print RSS
Four Earn NCAA Softball Regional Bids
May 13, 2018

Fifty-seven percent of Big 12 institutions were tabbed for the NCAA Division I Women’s College World Series bracket, announced on Sunday night. Baylor, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State and Texas received postseason bids.

This marks the second consecutive year the league will send four teams dancing.

The 2016 and 2017 reigning NCAA Champions Oklahoma earned the No. 4 overall seed. The Sooners, who went undefeated in Big 12 play this season, have earned a national seed for the past 12 years and are set to host a regional for the eighth straight time. OU will play Boston University at 6 p.m. CT on Friday, May 18 on ESPN2.

The Bears are slated to play at 6 p.m. CT against McNeese in College Station, Texas. Baylor earned its 13th overall NCAA Tournament appearance and eighth straight. A season ago BU advanced to the Women’s College World Series.

Oklahoma State will travel to Fayetteville, Arkansas to mark its third straight postseason bid. The Cowgirls are tabbed to battle Wichita State at 1:30 p.m. on Saturday, May 19.

In the Seattle Regional, Texas will face Minnesota on Friday, May 18 at 8 p.m. CT on ESPN as its 19th overall regional appearance.

Additionally, Texas Tech was selected for the National Invitational Softball Championship. TTU was one of 12 automatic qualifies for the 17-team field and will play Stephen F. Austin on Wednesday at 3 p.m. CT in Conway, Arkansas.

< Softball
Popular on
Load More