Print RSS
2018 All-Big 12 Baseball Awards Announced
May 22, 2018

After Texas won its first regular season title since 2011, Kody Clemens took home Big 12 Player of the Year and David Pierce garnered his first Big 12 Coach of the Year accolade. In total, six Longhorns earned All-Big 12 distinction. Clemens became the first Longhorn to pick up Player of the Year honors since Kyle Russell in 2007.

Baylor’s Cody Bradford was tabbed Pitcher of the Year, while Oklahoma State’s Matt Kroon was named Newcomer of the Year. For the second year in a row, a Texas Tech player was named the Freshman of the Year. Josh Jung took home the honor in 2017, while Gabe Holt was named the Conference’s top rookie in 2018.

The All-Big 12 team and awards are voted on by the league’s head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own players.

Clemens leads the Big 12 and is tied for fifth nationally with 19 home runs this season. In league play, the junior from Houston has a league-leading .837 slugging percentage. He is the first Longhorn since 2008 to collect at least 19 home runs and 60 RBIs.

Bradford compiled a 2.60 earned run average in 12 starts this season, while pitching two complete games and notching a pair of shutouts. In league play, the sophomore boasted a 1.88 ERA with a 4-3 record, while fanning 49 and walking 13 in 52.2 innings pitched.

Holt led all freshmen with a .341 batting average and tied for a league-high 27 stolen bases. The Bonaire, Georgia, native strung together 74 hits, 17 extra-base hits and 33 RBIs in 53 contests this season. 

After transferring to Oklahoma State from Central Arizona Community College, Kroon collected a .296 batting average with 58 hits and 11 homers in 51 games. In league contests, the junior paced the Big 12 with 28 runs and 12 doubles.

Texas Tech led the league with five All-Big 12 First Team selections, while Baylor, Oklahoma and Texas had three honorees each. In total, Baylor had seven All-Big 12 honorees followed by six from Texas. 

A total of six student-athletes earned unanimous All-Big 12 First Team distinction. In addition to Texas’ Clemens, Baylor catcher Shea Langeliers, Oklahoma right-handed pitcher Jake Irvin, Texas Tech infielder Josh Jung, Texas Tech outfielder Grant Little and West Virginia infielder Kyle Gray were unanimous first team selections.

On the All-Freshman Team, TCU led the way with four honorees: infielder Coby Boulware, left-handed pitcher Augie Mihlbauer, infielder Adam Oviedo and right-handed pitcher Caleb Sloan.

2018 All-Big 12 Baseball Awards

Player of the Year: Kody Clemens, Texas, Jr., INF, Houston, Texas/Memorial
Pitcher of the Year: Cody Bradford, Baylor, So., LHP, Aledo, Texas/Aledo
Newcomer of the Year: Matt Kroon, Oklahoma State, Jr., INF, Scottsdale, Ariz./Central Arizona CC
Freshman of the Year: Gabe Holt, Texas Tech, INF, Bonaire, Ga./Veterans
Coach of the Year: David Pierce, Texas

All-Big 12 First Team
Shea Langeliers, Baylor+%, C, So., Keller, Texas/Keller
Josh Jung, Texas Tech*+%, INF, So, San Antonio, Texas/MacArthur
Davis Wendzel, Baylor%@, INF,  So., San Clemente, Calif./Jserra Catholic
Kody Clemens, Texas*, INF, Jr., Houston, Texas/Memorial
Gabe Holt, Texas Tech, INF, Fr., Bonaire, Ga./Veterans
Kyle Gray, West Virginia*@, INF, Jr., Blanco, Texas/Blanco
Steele Walker, Oklahoma^!, OF, Jr., Prosper, Texas/Prosper
Duke Ellis, Texas, OF, So., Nacogdoches, Texas/Panola College
Grant Little, Texas Tech*%, OF, So., Midland, Texas/Midland Christian
Will Brennan, K-State+%, UTL, So., Stilwell, Kan./Blue Valley
Zach Zubia, Texas, DH, Fr., Richmond, Texas/Strake Jesuit
Zach Rheams, Texas Tech, DH, Sr., Angleton, Texas/Brazoswood
Cody Bradford, Baylor, LHP, So., Aledo, Texas/Aledo
Jake Irvin, Oklahoma*@, RHP, Jr., Bloomington, Minn./Jefferson
Carson Teel, Oklahoma State, LHP, Jr., Stillwater, Okla./Stillwater
Caleb Kilian, Texas Tech, RHP, So., Flower Mound, Texas/Flower Mound
Austin Hansen, Oklahoma, RHP, Jr., Lenexa, Kan./Olathe Northwest
Durbin Feltman, TCU@!, RHP, Jr., Conroe, Texas/Oak Ridge

All-Big 12 Second Team
Colin Simpson, Oklahoma State@, C, Jr.,  Edmond, Okla./Memorial
David Hamilton, Texas%, INF, So., San Marcos, Texas/San Marcos
Andy Thomas, Baylor, INF, So., Murrieta, Calif./Murrieta
Brylie Ware, Oklahoma^, INF, Jr., Sedgwick, Kan./ Neosho CC
Matt Kroon, Oklahoma State, INF, Jr., Scottsdale, Ariz./Central Arizona CC
Michael Neustifter, Oklahoma State, INF, So., Carrollton, Texas/Hebron
Jon Littell, Oklahoma State, OF, Sr., Stillwater, Okla./Stillwater
Josh Watson, TCU!, OF, Jr., Arlington, Texas/Martin
Darius Hill, West Virginia,@&, OF, Jr., Dallas, Texas/Dallas Jesuit
Nick Loftin, Baylor  UTL, Fr., Corpus Christi, Texas/W.B. Ray
Richard Cunningham, Baylor@, DH, Jr., Austin, Texas/Stephen F. Austin HS
Ryan Zeferjahn, Kansas, RHP, So., Topeka, Kan./Seaman
Nathan Wiles, Oklahoma, RHP, So., Overland Park, Kan./Blue Valley West
Nick Lodolo, TCU+%, LHP, So., LaVerne, Calif./Damien
Blair Henley, Texas, RHP, So., Fort Worth, Texas/Arlington Heights
Troy Montemayor, Baylor^#, RHP, Sr., San Antonio, Texas/Reagan
Andy McGuire, Texas, RHP, Jr., Oakton, Va./James Madison HS

Honorable Mention
Baylor - Josh Bissonette, Joe Heineman, Hayden Kettler
Kansas - James Consentino, Ryan Cyr, Devin Foyle, Jaxx Groshans, Zack LeBan
K-State - Drew Mount
Oklahoma - Connor Berry, Cade Harris, Brady Lindsly, Kyle Mendenhall, Kyler Murray, Brandon Zaragoza
Oklahoma State - Peyton Battenfield, Trevor Boone, Christian Funk, Joe Lienhard, Carson McCusker, C.J. Varela
Texas - Parker Joe Robinson; TCU - A.J. Balta, Adam Oviedo
West Virginia - Tyler Doanes, Ivan Gonzalez, Marques Inman, Isaiah Kearns, Kade Strowd, Brandon White, Braden Zarbnisky

All-Freshman Team
Davion Downey, Baylor, OF, Bowling Green, Ky./Warren East
Nick Loftin, Baylor*, UTL, Corpus Christi, Texas/W.B. Ray
Tyler Thomas, Baylor, SP, Keller, Texas/Keller
Levi Prater, Oklahoma*, LHP, Ada, Okla./Byng
Coby Boulware, TCU, INF, Anthem, Ariz./Boulder Creek
Augie Mihlbauer, TCU, LHP, Mukwonago, Wisc./Mukwonago
Adam Oviedo, TCU, INF, Grandview, Texas/Alvarado
Caleb Sloan, TCU, RHP, Centennial, Colo./Regis Jesuit
Kamron Fields, Texas, UTL, Garland, Texas/Lakeview Centennial
Zach Zubia, Texas*, DH, Richmond, Texas/Strake Jesuit
Gabe Holt, Texas Tech*, 2B, Bonaire, Ga./Veterans
Tyler Doanes, West Virginia, UTL, Fayetteville, Ga./Whitewater

* Unanimous Choice  
^ 2017 First Team Honoree               
+ 2017 Second Team Honoree                     
@ 2017 Honorable Mention
% 2017 All-Freshman Team  
# 2016 First Team Honoree
& 2016 Second Team Honoree         
! 2016 Honorable Mention

< Baseball
Popular on
Load More