Print RSS
Walker and Clemens Earn District Player of the Year Honors
June 08, 2018

Oklahoma outfielder Steele Walker and Texas infielder Kody Clemens earned NCBWA District Players of the Year, as announced by the organization on Friday.

Walker was tabbed the District 6 Player of the Year, while Clemens garnered the accolade for District 7.

Oklahoma’s Walker is a first draftee after he was picked by the Chicago White Sox in the second round. He led the Sooners with a .352 batting average, while hitting a team-leading 13 home runs. The Prosper, Texas native added 14 doubles and knocked in 53 runs. The junior outfielder was named All-Big 12 First-Team for the second straight season. Baseball American slotted him on their All-America second team. A semifinalist for the Golden Spikes Award, he ranked first on the team with a .441 on-base percentage and .606 slugging percentage.

Clemens, a finalist for the Dick Howser Trophy and who led the Longhorns to their first Big 12 conference title since 2011, spurred Texas to the Super Regional round as a junior, hitting a team-high .346 with 21 home runs and driving in 68 runs. The Houston native was selected by Detroit in the third round of the MLB Draft and was honored as the Big 12 Player of the Year and named to Baseball America and Collegiate Baseball’s All-America teams. A Golden Spikes Award finalist, Clemens defensively has been a stalwart at second base, helping turn 68 double plays, which ranks third in the nation.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport.


< Baseball
Popular on
Load More