Print RSS
Five Named to Hermann Trophy Watch List
August 09, 2018

Five Big 12 women soccer players were named to the 2018 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List Thursday, announced by the United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club.

Four Big 12 schools are represented on the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List with Haley Woodard (Oklahoma State), Katie Lund (TCU), Cyera Hintzen (Texas), Bianca St. Georges (West Virginia) and Rylee Foster (West Virginia).

The MAC Hermann Trophy, presented by World Wide Technology, is the most prestigious individual award in college soccer and is presented annually to the most outstanding female player of the year.

Woodard, an All-Big 12 First Team selection in 2017 and Preseason All-Big 12 honoree in 2018, led the Big 12 with four goals and nine points in conference games only. Goalkeeper Lund helped TCU tie a school-record with eight shutouts, seven of which were solo efforts. She also led the Big 12 with a .835 save percentage.

Hintzen, a 2017 United Soccer Coaches All-American, leads the Big 12 in total points (25) and match-winners (six) while tying for the league lead in goals (10).

The Mountaineers’ two standouts were also both named to the 2018 Preseason All-Big 12 Team. Georges started all 23 matches and was named an All-Big 12 First Team honoree in 2017. Foster earned credit for 12 of WVU’s 13 clean sheets, the most in the Big 12 and eighth nationally.

Fifteen semifinalists will be named for both the men’s and women’s MAC Hermann Trophy near the end of the college season based on voting by NCAA Division I coaches. From those candidates, three finalists will be placed on the ballot for the coveted award. This year’s winner will be announced Friday, January 4 at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. 

< Soccer
Popular on
Load More