Print RSS
Rose Bowl Hall of Fame to Induct Vince Young
September 11, 2018

Former Texas quarterback Vince Young will be inducted into the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame on Dec. 31, 2018, the Rose Bowl announced. He will be joined by George Halas, Randall McDaniel and Pop Warner. Young led his Longhorns to victories in both the 2005 and 2006 Rose Bowl games, taking home the National Championship over USC with the latter. Mack Brown was previously inducted into the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame as part of the Class of 2017.

During the 2006 National Championship game played at the Rose Bowl against No. 1 USC, Young threw for 267 yards, ran for 200 yards and scored three touchdowns. In the 2005 Rose Bowl against Michigan, he rushed for 192 yards to go along with 180 passing yards and accounted for five TDs (one passing/four rushing).

In addition, Young led Texas to its second Big 12 Championship and also led the 2005 Longhorns to a NCAA-record 652 points. He also helped them become one of only four teams in NCAA history at that time to average at least 50 points and 500 yards per game. He became the first player in NCAA history to pass for 3,000 yards and rush for 1,000 in a single season. As a result, Young was named the recipient of the Maxwell Award, Davey O'Brien Award and Manning Award. He also was named Cingular/ABC Player of the Year, runner-up for the Heisman Trophy and consensus first-team All-America.

Young complied a 30-2 (.938) record as a starter and left Texas as the winningest quarterback in school history. Among that record came wins in the final 20 games of his career. His .938 winning percentage was sixth-best in NCAA history at the time. After just three seasons, Young became only the third quarterback in NCAA history at the time to rush for better than 3,000 yards while passing for at least 6,000. He completed 61.8 percent of his passes for 6,040 yards (No. 6 on UT's career list) and 44 TDs (No. 5 on UT's career list). He posted 3,127 rushing yards and 37 TDs. Both his rushing yards and TDs are UT quarterback records, and stand fifth and fourth, respectively, among all Longhorn rushers. He also left Texas as the career leader in total offense (9,167 yards) and TDs responsible for with 81.

The Rose Bowl Hall of Fame was established in 1989 to honor members of the Rose Bowl Game family who have contributed to the history and excitement of the Rose Bowl Game and those who embody the best of the passion, strength, tradition and honor associated with The Granddaddy of Them All®. What was once only a dream of 1982 Tournament of Roses President Harold E. Coombes has become an annual tradition with over 100 inductees.

Those eligible for induction include players, coaches, school administrators, athletic directors, conference officials and others who have made special contributions to the Rose Bowl Game. Inductees are selected by a committee made up of representatives from the Tournament of Roses, media professionals and leaders in college football.

Inductees will be celebrated at a ceremony where they receive the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame trophy and blazer. In addition, inductees are memorialized on a permanent plaque with their names and year of induction at The Court of Champions at the Rose Bowl Stadium.

< Football
Popular on
Load More