Print RSS
2018-19 WBB Preseason Awards Unveiled
October 10, 2018

The Big 12 Conference has announced its Preseason All-Big 12 Team as well as honors for preseason player, freshman and newcomer of the year for the 2018-19 women’s basketball season. The awards are chosen by head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes.

Kalani Brown (Baylor) was selected as the Preseason Player of the Year for a second consecutive season. Graduate student Danni Williams (Texas) was named Preseason Newcomer of the Year. NaLyssa Smith (Baylor) and Charli Collier (Texas) shared Preseason Co-Freshmen of the Year honors.

Brown was a unanimous All-Big 12 First Team honoree last season and the 2018 Big 12 Player of the Year. As a junior, the Slidell, Louisiana, native averaged 20.1 points and 10.2 rebounds per game, while connecting on 65.0 percent (278-of-428) from the field.

Williams, a graduate student transfer, averaged 14.7 points, 3.2 rebounds and 2.4 assists last season. In 2016-17, she ranked sixth in the SEC with 16.6 points per game.

Collier amassed 3,539 points and 1,400 rebounds in her high school career at Barbers Hill. The Mont Belvieu, Texas native, was a finalist for the Naismith Trophy High School Player of the Year Award and was a McDonald’s All-American and Jordan Brand Classic All-American.

Smith averaged 23.4 points, 13.7 rebounds and 3.4 blocks as a senior at East Central High. The Converse, Texas, native also earned McDonald’s All-American and Jordan Brand Classic All-American honors. Additionally, she was a 2018 Naismith Trophy High School All-American First Team selection.

Joining Brown on the Preseason All-Big 12 Team are Lauren Cox (Baylor), Bridget Carleton (Iowa State), Kayla Goth (K-State), Shaina Pellington (Oklahoma), Braxtin Miller (Oklahoma State), Amy Okonkwo (TCU), Joyner Holmes (Texas), Lashann Higgs (Texas) and Tynice Martin (West Virginia). The preseason team was expanded this year to match the postseason honors.

The 2018-19 season gets underway on Tuesday, November 6 with three non-conference games. League action begins on Wednesday, January 2. The Big 12 Tipoff event is set for Tuesday, Oct. 16, in Dallas, Texas, at St. Philip's School and Community Center. 

2018-19 Big 12 Conference Women’s Basketball Preseason awards
(coaches not allowed to vote for own players) 

Preseason Player of the Year
Kalani Brown, Baylor, C, 6-5, Sr, Slidell, La. 

Preseason Newcomer of the Year
Danni Williams, Texas, G, 5-10, Gr, Clovis, N.M.

Preseason Co-Freshmen of the Year
NaLyssa Smith, Baylor, F, 6-2, Converse, Texas
Charli Collier, Texas, F/C, 6-5, Mont Belvieu, Texas


School Pos Ht Cl-Exp PPG RPG Hometown
Kalani Brown Baylor C 6-5 Sr-3L 20.1 10.2 Slidell, La.

Lauren Cox

Baylor F 6-4 Jr-2L 15.3 9.7 Flower Mound, Texas
Bridget Carleton Iowa State G 6-1 Sr-3L 19.2 6.5 Chatham, Ontario, Canada

Kayla Goth

K-State G 6-0 Sr-3L 17.5 3.8 DeForest, Wis.

Shaina Pellington

Oklahoma G 5-7 So-1L 13.1 2.7 Pickering, Ontario, Canada

Braxtin Miller

Oklahoma State G 5-10 So-1L 11.7 3.4 Centerville, Ohio

Amy Okonkwo

TCU F 6-2 Sr-2L 14.4 5.8 Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.
Lashann Higgs Texas G 5-9 Sr-3L 12.8 3.3 Round Rock, Texas
Joyner Holmes Texas G/F 6-3 Jr-2L 6.8 6.0 Cedar Hill, Texas

Tynice Martin

West Virginia G 5-11 Jr-2L 18.6* 4.3* Atlanta, Ga.

* Did not play in 2017-18 due to injury, stats are from 2016-17 season.  

Honorable Mention (listed alphabetically by school): Christalah Lyons (Kansas), Jessica Washington (Kansas), Peyton Williams (K-State), Adeola Akomolafe (TCU), Jordan Moore (TCU), Jatarie White (Texas), Danni Williams (Texas), Naomi Davenport (West Virginia) and Katrina Pardee (West Virginia).

< Women's Basketball
Popular on
Load More