Print RSS
Cross Country Postseason Awards Announced
November 21, 2018

With the 2018 Big 12 Cross Country season in the books, the Conference office has announced its postseason awards.

Iowa State’s Cailie Logue was named Women’s Runner of the Year, while Cyclone Edwin Kurgat was tabbed the Men’s Runner of the Year. Oklahoma’s Haley Herberg was awarded the Big 12 Women’s Newcomer of the Year, as Oklahoma State’s Isai Rodriguez was tabbed the Men’s Newcomer of the Year. 

Both Coach of the Year awards will remain in Ames, Iowa, as both coaches earn the honors. men’s head coach Martin Smith has now won the award in back-to-back season, while in her first year, women’s head coach Amy Rudolph captures her first award. ISU’s coaching duo led their respective teams to a Big 12 Championship and NCAA Midwest Regional sweep.

Logue garners her first Women’s Runner of the Year award after individual first-place finishes at both the Big 12 Championship and the Midwest Regional. The Cyclone sophomore was named the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Midwest Region Female Athlete of the Year and earned All-Big 12 honors this season. 

Herberg of Oklahoma collected four top-five individual finishes out of the six meets she competed in. The California native capped off the Big 12 Championship with a third-place finish and All-Big 12 honors.

Kurgat tallied first-place individual finishes in both the 2018 NCAA Midwest Regional and the Big 12 Championships, becoming the first Iowa State men's individual to do so. The junior took third place individually at the NCAA Championships to earn All-America honors, which was the best finish by a Cyclone individual since 1990. He was awarded the Midwest Region's Bill Bergan Award Male Athlete of the Year Award by the USTFCCCA, while also earning All-Big 12 honors. 

Rodriguez finished fourth nationally at the NCAA Championships to claim All-America honors, which ranks as the highest finish in OSU’s history. The sophomore finished runner-up at both the Midwest Regional and the Big 12 Championship, as he garnered All-Big 12 honors.

< Cross Country
Popular on
Load More