Print RSS
Bob Stoops Tabbed for 2018 Orange Bowl Hall of Fame
December 05, 2018

Former Oklahoma coach Bob Stoops along with Derrick Alexander, Scott Frost, Shaun Alexander and Frank Beamer are among a class of five inductees to the 2018 Orange Bowl Hall of Fame.

Stoops, the all-time winningest coach in Sooner history, was the consensus national “Coach of the Year” while leading Oklahoma to a national championship with a 13-2 win over Florida State in the 2001 Orange Bowl. His Oklahoma team dominated the Big 12 during his 18 years as head coach, winning 10 titles, and making four Orange Bowl appearances. He won more than 80 percent of his games (190-48) at OU.

The five will be honored at the annual AvMed Orange Bowl Coaches Luncheon presented by AutoNation on Friday, December 28 at Jungle Island in Miami the day before the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Capital One Orange Bowl, and presented to the crowd during an on-field ceremony.

Alabama head coach Nick Saban and Oklahoma’s Lincoln Riley and select players from their institutions will be the Luncheon’s featured guests, and the 2018 recipients of the Edwin Pope Vanguard Media Award and the Orange Bowl – FWAA Courage Award will also be honored.

The 2018 Hall of Fame class will join 114 others who have made an impact on the bowl since its beginning in 1935.

< Football
Popular on
Load More